Thread: Hello World tutorial version mismatch?

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

Default Hello World tutorial version mismatch?

Howdy folks!

This is probably going to be the most newbie question that folks have seen in a while, but I could use a bit of direction. I was speaking with a former university professor of mine about a good IDE to use for C++ programming, and he directed me here. I'm quite new to programming, so he also told me to start from the very basics, and go through all the tutorials to learn how to use the IDE. I'm having a bit of difficulty finding the exact starting point for learning, however.

To be more specific, I started with the "Qt Creator - A Quick Tour" but shortly into that tutorial it says I should already have a working knowledge of how to design applications in Qt.

After a bit of digging, I found a "Hello World" tutorial for Qt 4.4.3: http://doc.trolltech.com/4.4/tutorials-tutorial.html
    A check of the version of IDE says that I'm using Qt creator 1.3.1 which is based on Qt 4.6.2. My problem is that the tutorial does not match the steps I am asked to go through to make the application. These seem to be the most current versions of both the tutorial and IDE, though. More specifically here, the IDE complains of a lack of a makefile. The tutorial mentions a qmake tool, though it appears to assume that I'm running from a command prompt. There is a "run qmake" option under the build menu, but that doesn't seem to alleviate the failure to build.

I have a feeling there are things that the tutorial is assuming I know, but I actually don't. I'm not sure exactly what would come before a "Hello World" tutorial, so I'm kind of stuck on where to actually start. I have a feeling the answer is quite blatantly obvious, but I do not have the background to understand where my knowledge gaps are; most of my education has been focused on Computer Science theory.

Thank you in advance for your help!
    Rob

Thanks
    Qt products