Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: What support for STL sets?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default What support for STL sets?

    Hello,
    I need to store ordered sets of various types so I thought STL sets would be just the thing, so I wrote a test programme that began like this:

    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QtCore/QCoreApplication>
    2. #include <set>
    3. #include <iterator>
    4. #include <iostream>
    5. using std::cout;
    6. using std::endl;
    7.  
    8. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    9. {
    10. QCoreApplication a(argc, argv);
    11. set<int> intSet1;
    12. // more follows
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Unfortunately the compiler tells me that "set was not declared in this scope".

    Is STL not supported, or have I made a mistake?
    I'm using QTCreator++ 1.3.0 with MinGW in Windows XP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 94 Times in 86 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    set is part of the std namespace; you need to refer to it as std::set, or work around it with a 'using' statement as you have for cout and cerr. I'd recommend explicitly qualifying it with std::set, given the commonality of the name.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Thankyou,
    My programme works now, and I appreciate the advice concerning the systematic use of std::set.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    OK my programme with set<int> was just a warm-up exercise.
    What I'd like to do now is create a set whose comparison criterion is based on a Function object, (aka a Functor).
    The aim is to compare two dimensional points by comparing their distance from a base point, The base point is something that is going to be moving in the program, so this is implemented as a private field m_basepoint of a class.
    The comparison is implemented by overloading the () operator something like this:
    Qt Code:
    1. bool operator()(QPointF p1,QPointF p2){return distance(m_basepoint,p1) < distance(m_basepoint,p2);}
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    (where distance is an obvious distance function) and putting this in a class CompareToBase
    Unfortunately
    it seems that
    Qt Code:
    1. set<Type, Functor>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    is not foreseen in STL.
    also
    Qt Code:
    1. set<QPointF,CompareToBase>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    has a problem: how do you set the base_point?
    Last edited by feraudyh; 12th May 2010 at 19:52.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Your operator() should return bool.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Yes, that was a typo. I fixed it, thanks.
    Last edited by feraudyh; 12th May 2010 at 19:52.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Ok, let's suppose my operator returns bool as I should have written.
    Somehow going through the STL documentation, I have this feeliing I am going to have to pull out tricks like the use of
    bind2nd or something concerning adaptable functors....
    Am I looking in the right direction?
    All of this brings to mind the Lambda Calculus in disguise.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    What is the issue then? You don't know how to initialize the set?
    Qt Code:
    1. set<QPointF,CompareToBase> S(a, a+N); //where a is OPointF array of N elements // or for other containers use iterators .begin(), .end()
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    LE: Documentation for set

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Well, the issue is how to set the "memory" or internal state of the comparison, i.e. the value of m_basepoint.
    It would be nice if I could set this though set initialisation, but I didnt know i could, I will have another look at the documentation for set.
    I suppose you mean the SGI documentation.
    Last edited by feraudyh; 12th May 2010 at 20:39.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    m_basepoint has nothing to do with the set, isn't it in the implementation of the class that will be contained in the set? And i recommend to initialize all objects that you create, especially if you want to put them in a std::set (witch must compare objects, so: you can't add uninitialized objects to a set)

    And, be careful with set, because it can contain an object only once, if this is a problem then you should look for std::multiset. Choose your containers with care.

    The SGI is an implementation of STL, STL itself is only a paper, just like C++ standard, but the container interface should be the same in SGI implementation, GCC, QT, or Microsoft (i think this is done be Dinkumware) or anybody-else who implement the STL...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Yes, m_compare has nothing to do with the set, if we are thinking of mathematical object but it does have an impact on the ordering. You see these sets are not just mathematical sets but they are ordered using a binary tree.
    For me the order is very important.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    For me the order is very important.
    That is why you need to have the elements initialized before you can add them to std::set, or std::multiset.

    The set can't order your objects if they don't have a value, so the data member must have a value so that set can sort your objects.
    The set doesn't know anything about your data, it just calls the CompareToBase functor, witch must be able to tell if one object is smaller (or not) then the other objects that are in set.

    So: you need to have the objects created and initialized (read them form keyboard or from file etc) and then you put them in set/multiset (witch will sort them).

    Or, if you are not comfortable yet with set/multiset, use an c-style array of your data type and sort it with std::sort like this:
    Qt Code:
    1. std::sort(ar, ar+N, CompareToBase); // ar is the array, N is array size, and your CompareToBase functor
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    or an std::vector, like this:
    Qt Code:
    1. std::sort(vec.begin(), vec.end(), CompareToBase); // vec is std::vector<your_data_type>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    You need: #include <algorithm> if you use std::sort, anyway you need your data to be initialized, and vector and array don't sort automatically as you add elements.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Thankyou Zlatomir,
    Let me try and convince you I know all about adding well initialised elements to my set.
    First
    set<QPointF> s = new set<QPointF>;
    will create an empty set of points.
    Then
    QPointF *pp = new QpPointF(2.4, 6.88); // sample values
    will create a new point pointer
    and
    s.insert(*pp) will insert the point..
    (ok i should probably be using references)
    The problem is not about initialisation of the data, it's about passing the function object (functor) to the set s so that s can do its comparison to know where to place the new point.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    OK, I found the solution to my problem on another forum.
    Simplifying my problem by replacing points by just doubles, but using an "origin" here is the code.

    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QtCore/QCoreApplication>
    2. #include <iostream>
    3. #include <math.h>
    4. #include <set>
    5. #include <iterator>
    6. using std::cout;
    7.  
    8. class origin_comp{
    9. public:
    10. origin_comp(double o):_origine(o){}
    11. bool operator()(double d1, double d2){return fabs(d1 -_origine)< fabs(d2 - _origine);}
    12. private:
    13. double _origine;
    14. };
    15.  
    16.  
    17. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    18. {
    19. std::set<double,origin_comp>::iterator it;
    20. QCoreApplication a(argc, argv);
    21. double origin = 4.0;
    22. origin_comp oc(origin );
    23. std::set<double, origin_comp> s(oc);
    24. s.insert(4.5);
    25. s.insert(7.7);
    26. s.insert(0.0);
    27. for(it = s.begin();it != s.end(); it++)
    28. cout<<*it<<" ";
    29. cout << std::endl;
    30. return a.exec();
    31. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Sorry, my bad, i didn't understand what do you meant by passing functor to set and that data member of your class.

    A easier solution would have been to overload operator< for class that is member of set (then you can construct set without functor, and can do comparison of what member you want in operator< )

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    The key line is line 23 where we have the constructor call s(oc) for the set to which we pass oc, this then makes it possible to
    inform the origin comp constructor of the "origin" (state). The existence of this constructor form I was not aware of.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    Yes, i know, now i am synchronized sorry for insisted on initializing objects, i didn't understood your problem.

    Just a little OOP comment, shouldn't your origine point be a member of your class, i don't like the idea of a "dangling" thing be passed as parameter, because you don't need many origine points, or not know the origine point until run-time, or do you? (i mean the origin stays constant?)

    For double, like in example, functor is the way to pass that origine (if is anythig about 0.0), but since you in your project build a class, i think you should encapsulate origine in your class (even if you use functor for comparison).

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: What support for STL sets?

    What is it exactly that you want to represent by this set? To me it seems you can do the same thing with a sorted list or QSet with dedicated qHash() implementation for your objects (which is a direct equivalent of what you are doint with std::set). A set is by definition an unordered structure...
    Last edited by wysota; 14th May 2010 at 11:04.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. DvB Chip sets
    By yuvaraj.yadav in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th January 2010, 06:16
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th May 2009, 10:14
  3. Creating images from sets of data.
    By maverick_pol in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th February 2008, 10:25
  4. QT Nested Sets SQL/XML - categories (tree)
    By patrik08 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th June 2006, 01:17

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.