Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: very slow performance when using through internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default very slow performance when using through internet

    Hi all:

    I made a Qt application to plot certain data. It works great when used at the computer at which is installed. The thing is that the application is to be used in a dedicated server through internet

    There is a natural lag for the whole application, even for pressing a button, but is very small. But when it comes to the plot, it has become extremely slow because the user has to make some picks on the data.

    When using it installed at my desktop, it takes one second (more or less) to replot the image with a marker where the user made the pick. When using the software through internet, it takes 12 seconds...

    How can I improve this?

    The algorithm is: plot the curves, when the user makes click put a marker and replot. If you want I can put the code but I don't think it helps too much. But again, I'm not an expert.

    ANY ideas would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,308
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: very slow performance when using through internet

    Assuming that the application is running completely on the server and you are using something like NX to have the user interface on your system: what happens, when you disable the cache of the plot canvas ?

    Uwe

Similar Threads

  1. Search bar for Internet Radio
    By gols in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th June 2010, 13:51
  2. Internet Speedometer
    By dilidpan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd May 2010, 16:50
  3. How to use a image from internet
    By kellen851105 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th March 2010, 07:16
  4. Is internet connected
    By bunjee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th November 2009, 22:22

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.