Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Deploying first Windows app.... compiled... now what.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3

    Default Deploying first Windows app.... compiled... now what.

    Okay... I'm new to this Windows gig. Honestly, I'm only doing this so people can use the app. I have no need to run it on Windows.

    Having said that, I'm reading around and seeing things like, "copy DLLs from Qt/bin to project directory". Huh? Is that right? I basically just want to make an executable that any who has the Qt libs installed can run. Surely it's not so cumbersome as to require the copying of a bunch of libs (that should be in one place only anyway.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying first Windows app.... compiled... now what.

    basically just want to make an executable that any who has the Qt libs installed can run.
    If Qt was installed on the machine, and the the Qt DLLs are registered in the system, all you need is the exe.

    The DLLs are needed for machines that DO NOT have Qt installed.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: Deploying first Windows app.... compiled... now what.

    Hi

    Thanks for the response. Yes, Qt is installed (2010.05)... most recent version from Qt's site, w/ mingw as the compiler.

    I've got
    TARGET=myproject.exe

    Then I do
    qmake
    mingw32-make

    It compiles fine. I have my target executable in the project root. It creates 2 subdirectores: debug (which has 2 executables in it...neither of which work due to a missing dll, according to it and a lot of object files) and release, which is empty.

    I click on the executable, and I get a DOS window open and close. If I run it from the terminal, it just sits there like a monkey on a rock.

    Hmm... doing something wrong I assume.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying first Windows app.... compiled... now what.

    Well, I responded to your original post, which was about the need to copy DLLs.
    From what you have written in your last post it is clear that missing DLLs are not the porblem, other wise the exe would complain that it cannot find missing DLLs.

    To a problem in the behavior of your app, if you need help to debug the problem, I would suggest opening a new thread, since its another problem.
    There you should explain what it is the app is supposed to do, and what are the symptoms you are getting.
    In addition relevant code would help.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 18th January 2011, 10:13
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th June 2010, 20:27
  3. Deploying on Windows
    By GianMarco in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th November 2009, 08:13
  4. Deploying an application on windows
    By dmcr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd September 2009, 10:23
  5. Deploying DB apps (Windows)
    By shindasingh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th October 2007, 22:44

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.