Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Trouble deploying on Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3

    Default Trouble deploying on Windows

    I've got a program that I'm running mainly on my Mac, and debugging/testing on my Linux machine. This is the first time I've tried to deploy on Windows, and it's not going so smoothly. It compiles fine. Running it is another issue.

    My setup
    -Windows XP
    -Open Source Qt (2010.05)
    -Mingw32 (No other compiler installed on the machine)
    -Patience

    The symptoms are that it runs, but I get a Visual C++ Runtime error when it does. No other debug info (that I can see).

    Any info would be appreciated. I've attached the entire project.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,536
    Thanked 284 Times in 279 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Trouble deploying on Windows

    File main_window.cpp, line 66 :
    Qt Code:
    1. settings->value( setting_volume ).toString();
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    where setting_volume is empty.

    Sorry, but did You know what is DEBUGGER ?

  3. The following user says thank you to Lesiok for this useful post:

    kiss-o-matic (19th October 2010)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: Trouble deploying on Windows

    Hi

    I use gdb on Linux when I run into problems... but this has run fine on my other two architectures. The PC I have is hardly a good workstation for deployment/development, but I'm trying anyway.

    Cheers. I will mess with that.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Trouble deploying on Windows

    Can you explain the runtime error a little bit more? What is the exact error you get?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Trouble deploying on Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by kiss-o-matic View Post
    -Mingw32 (No other compiler installed on the machine)
    ...
    I get a Visual C++ Runtime error


    Please confirm that you are linking against the proper libs.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: Trouble deploying on Windows

    I will need to mirror the installation on my Windows PC I have here which gathers dust and is only used to play MAME with. But, I will get to it.

    Please confirm that you are linking against the proper libs.
    Not sure what else I'd be linking against (although I will check the Makefile qmake gives me [and upload it] ).

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Trouble deploying on Windows

    Just ignore my comment. Having never used mingw32, I found it odd that an application created with it would cause an error in a Microsoft C runtime. Having looked further into it, I can see that the mingw32 runtime is bound to MSVCRT. I was implying that you might have gotten the libraries mixed up (as in msvc vs mingw32). Thinking on that just a little further brings the realization that you would have never gotten past linkage. In other words, the only thing mixed up was me!

Similar Threads

  1. Deploying first Windows app.... compiled... now what.
    By kiss-o-matic in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th October 2010, 15:05
  2. Deploying on Windows
    By GianMarco in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th November 2009, 07:13
  3. Deploying an application on windows
    By dmcr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd September 2009, 09:23
  4. Qt Jambi, deploying app on Mac & Windows fails
    By ChrisColon in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th February 2009, 22:05
  5. Deploying DB apps (Windows)
    By shindasingh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th October 2007, 21:44

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.