Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    hello,

    i am facing some problem related to Password mode of QLineEdit. I am entering PIN Number into a QLineEdit box , which can take 6 digits and should display in password mode.

    This works fine on PC,But when same code compiled for an ARM Board and run ,than it is not displaying *****. Other things works fine ,like editing and reading. But only problem is, * instead of digit is not getting displayed.

    ARM Board has Touch LCD connected and I Am using Qt-4.6.2.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Hello,

    can some one please have the hint for this. I am not getting any clue on this.

    reply would be appreciated. Thanks in Advance.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Hello,

    I am still struggling with this issue. Please reply me if some one knows.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Please provide the source code for the creation of the QLineEdit you are having problems with.

    Whilst it is not working on your ARM board, what is value of EchoMode ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Dear squidge,

    Thanks For your Reply.
    I am using very simple code for QLineEdit, just Create it and
    setEchoMode(Password),
    But i just dont have the fundamentals of Different platform. Why it is working on PC and not on ARM Board. I dont think it has to do with code.

    Still let me give u the code , for clarity.
    /************************************************** ********/
    menupin::menupin(QSignalMapper *mapper, QWidget *parent):QWidget(parent)
    {

    menu = new QWidget();
    menu -> setGeoMetry(0,0,200,300); //just create a base widget
    menu -> setStyleSheet("background: transparent;", "border:01;");

    pinbox = new QLineEdit(menu); //create pinbox for editing pin
    pinbox -> setGeoMetry(80,0,80,35);
    pinbox -> setmaxlength(6); //Max length of PIN will be 6 digit
    pinbox -> setEchoMode(QLineEdit :: Password);
    pinbox -> show();

    scene = new QGraphicsScene(); //Taking just a scene
    scene -> addWidget(menu); //Adding main menu widget in this scene
    view = new QGraphicsView( scene); //creating a view on the scene
    view -> setParent(this, Qt::FrameLessWindowhint); //setting class object as a
    //parent
    view ->setFixedSize(300,200); //changing width and height
    view ->rotate(-90); //rotate PINBOX -90 Degree
    view -> show();

    }
    /************************************************** *******/

    Please rember , For typing pin on LCD i am using Virtual KeyPad.
    Last edited by savaliya_ambani; 29th December 2010 at 06:56.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Hello,

    Just tell me what is lacking in my code. Or is there any thing to do with the configuration.

    Please, reply some one i am in trouble.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    No expert can reply to this ? I think this is a bug for Qt-4.6.2 for some platform.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    If you put default text into pin entry box, does it start with stars, or the actual text?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Thanks squidge,

    When I put default text ,than also it doesnt show any text. Neither Actual Text nor text with Stars.

    When the same thing i do on my PC, it works fine as it should be.

    I cant find out the problem. Please, help me someone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Freinds,

    i am still struggling ,please reply .
    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Hi savaliya_ambani,

    Hope you are doing good.

    I also came across the same problem couple of days ago and am also working on touch LCD with ARM board. Merely i played bit trick to get rid of this issue.
    here i am using virtual keyboard which is designed by me. its basically a group of button controls and when ever button is pressed handle that events in slots, and in that slot, check for which widget(QLineEdit) is got focus and update that widget with button text using txtbox.setText(txtbox.setText()+btn.text()).
    and when ever password QLineEdit got focus, have temparory QString variable in which you will keep updating the btn.text() and at the same time you set pwtxtBox.setText(pwtxtBox.setText()+"*").
    when enterkey is pressed(meant to say from virtual keyboard that's enter button is pressed) validate the temparory QString. if your password and temparory string matched then you are set to go on if not clear pwtxtBox.setText("") and temparoty QString.

    Thanks
    Vijayaragavan S

    Enjoy sharing knowledge.


    Added after 11 minutes:


    Hi savaliya_ambani,

    Your code is absolutely rite. you can follow your code not a problem and in the previous message, am suppose to use pointer(->) instead of dot(.). i hope that will make you to come out of that big hurdle.

    Thanks
    Vijayaragavan

    Enjoy sharing knowledge
    Last edited by vijayaragavan; 13th January 2012 at 10:07.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Dear Friend,

    Its working . Font needs to be loaded.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Quote Originally Posted by mukesh.savaliya View Post
    Dear Friend,

    Its working . Font needs to be loaded.
    Hi...mukesh.savaliya , i met the same problem , but how to load the fonds? thx

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Please, Refer to the QFont classs and QFontDatabase::addApplicationFont.

    This will also help you.
    http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/2359...new-Font-to-QT

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    47
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QLineEdit::Password mode not working on touch LCD , connected to ARM board.

    Sorry to bring this up again , I am facing the same problem too , getting a blank line edit even if i type in using password echo mode , Just wanna know what u did to solve it ? Setting font for the line edit or ??

Similar Threads

  1. Making a KeyBoard into LCD connected with the ARM board.how can i ?
    By savaliya_ambani in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st January 2011, 23:55
  2. Use QLineEdit as password field
    By lyhoanghai in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27th October 2010, 14:53
  3. Simulating a touch event without a connected mobile phone
    By Rakula in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th October 2010, 07:59
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st August 2010, 11:26
  5. Echo mode Password
    By rk0747 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th July 2010, 09:25

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.