Thread: How to convert ui file to cpp file in QtCreator?

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default How to convert ui file to cpp file in QtCreator?

Hi, I am new to Qt4 and I am following the official book C++ GUI Programming with Qt4. It said that we can design UI form of the application first and then generate the c++ code for that ui file. In the book, they demonstrated it in Qt Designer and used qmake to generated a makefile that can invoke uic to to this. However, in the QtSDK I downloaded, it only has QtCreator and the the flow seems different. I don't know how to do in the latest SDK. Can someone give me a hand with that?

Thanks.

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits

Default Re: How to convert ui file to cpp file in QtCreator?

If you only want to use Qt Creator:

Create a new project of your choice. If you start with a Qt Gui application, a .ui file will already be created for you and the .pro file be created to use uic.
    You can then add more widgets or dialogs to your project.

http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtcreator-2.0.1/index.html

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Quote Originally Posted by tbscope View Post
    If you only want to use Qt Creator:

Create a new project of your choice. If you start with a Qt Gui application, a .ui file will already be created for you and the .pro file be created to use uic.
    You can then add more widgets or dialogs to your project.

http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtcreator-2.0.1/index.html
    I did that. But after that, I still don't know how to invoke uic... I didn't find the uic in the QtCreator and I looked at the bin directory, there was no binary file called "uic".

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits

It's automatic

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Quote Originally Posted by chipper View Post