Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Performance issue when using signals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Performance issue when using signals

    Hi,

    I have a doubt which concerns about using signals in Qt app. I am using about 20 signal slot functions in my app and of those signals some are called repeatedly. Though I like this mechanism very much, in fact my work has been reduced a lot with this, I would still want to know the limitation of using this feature in the application. I would really appreciate for your opinions.

    Thank You in Advance,

    Baluk
    Last edited by baluk; 17th November 2010 at 19:37.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Performance issue when using signals

    It depends.

    For any normal application (complex or not) it doesn't matter, the overhead is so small you can neglect it.
    In special situations, there might be better techniques.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Performance issue when using signals

    Think of the signal/slot mechanism as being a fly. If your object is an elephant, it isn't going to notice the added weight. If your object is a gnat, then you have a problem.

Similar Threads

  1. static function emitting signal
    By wagmare in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th March 2010, 09:34
  2. Problem emitting a signal
    By franco.amato in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th December 2009, 01:56
  3. Emitting signal from DLL to EXE
    By Miihkali in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th March 2009, 09:32
  4. Emitting signal causes CRASH
    By navi1084 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th March 2009, 17:17
  5. cost of emitting signal
    By quickNitin in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 09:53

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.