Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to import an old application code ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default How to import an old application code ?

    Hi everybody !

    I have an application :
    * it uses QT3.02 version library
    * it does not use Qt Designer
    * it uses Visual C++ 6.0

    All the classes of the application have been written "by hand" and not using Qt Designer.

    What I want to do is to :
    * use the QT 3.3.3 version library I have (integrated to Visual C++6.0)
    * make my application code usable through QT Designer

    Is it possible ? If yes, could somebody tell me how to do it ?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to import an old application code ?

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowmat
    make my application code usable through QT Designer
    What do you mean? Do you want to create .ui files from C++ code?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to import an old application code ?

    I want to be able to import my application code into Qt Designer and then to be able to add some new functionnalities to my application with the help of Qt Designer.

    Maybe it means creating .ui files from C++ code. Is it possible ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to import an old application code ?

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowmat
    I want to be able to import my application code into Qt Designer and then to be able to add some new functionnalities to my application with the help of Qt Designer.
    But Qt Designer is only a layout designer, it isn't an IDE. What do you want to do with your code in Qt Designer?

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowmat
    Maybe it means creating .ui files from C++ code. Is it possible ?
    Unfortunately not.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to import an old application code ?

    It is easy to manage signal/slot connection, add/remove/place graphic objects with Qt and the code is automatically added.

    In my application all must be done by hand ... you see what I mean ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 975 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to import an old application code ?

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowmat
    It is easy to manage signal/slot connection, add/remove/place graphic objects with Qt and the code is automatically added.
    For this you need .ui files. I'm not aware of any tool that could create an .ui file from hand written code.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to import an old application code ?

    Anyway, I must fix and optimize the application architecture so I will proceed as follow :
    * create a new SDI application
    * import all my classes (not including my own QApplication and QMainWindow class)
    * adding all functions of my old QMainWindow into the new QMainWindow
    * same previous step for QApplication

    It will not take me so much time.

    Thanks for your help Jacek.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th December 2006, 19:51
  2. problem with linking
    By mickey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12th August 2006, 22:41
  3. Where is code file
    By safknw in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 20th June 2006, 11:08
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st March 2006, 19:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.