Thread: Grabbing ahold of the focus, screen, keyboard and their soul

Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Grabbing ahold of the focus, screen, keyboard and their soul

Ok, I've got an application that needs to grab ahold of EVERYTHING until a user does the correct thing. I need it to pop back up to the foreground if someone minimizes it or clicks on another window. The first thing it needs to do is explicitly pop to the front.

Thoughts suggestions? And warning. I'm a Qt newbie who just got handed this project cause the previous guy left.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Grabbing ahold of the focus, screen, keyboard and their soul

I sense something evil here.... Ok, it's possible that you could have a legit use for this, but this smells of bad user interface design.

Save yourself a whole lot of trouble by making the window maximized, always on top, and without a window frame (have a look at Window flags for QWidget (in the constructor)). This removes the ability to click on most apps already. Of course, the user could still get around it if they really wanted to, but you can prevent a lot of that with some event capturing (QWidget::leaveEvent(), etc)

Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11