Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Releasing application is not retard-proof.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Releasing application is not retard-proof.

    - I am using QT Creator

    I created a simple application without any content.
    Executed it in debug-mode and it worked fine.

    Compiled and executed it, but then the problems started.
    I had to add the following files manually:
    mingwm10.dll
    libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll
    QtCore4.dll
    And it is still giving errors:
    Can't find access-point of procedure _zPqFreePv in DLL File QtCore4.dll(translated from dutch).

    I followed the following instruction and it doesn't change anything:
    http://www.qtcentre.org/wiki/index.p..._4.6_and_newer

    Why aren't the DLL files automatically included in non-static releases?
    Why isn't there an option for a static release?

    So should I quickly dispose this SDK and never look back again?
    Or am I doing something critically wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Releasing application is not retard-proof.

    It is up to the developer to distribute the required DLLs along with the executable. The IDE can not do this as it does not know the exact DLLs you need, plus you need to read the relevent license agreements before you can distribute certain DLLs that your application may need. You can use something like dependancy checker to get a list of required DLLs.

    You will need to rebuild the Qt library to get a static release, by default only shared library is available. Note that a static release requires a different (more strict) license agreement than shared library. Its therefore recommended that you use shared library unless you wish to purchase commercial license (for full terms, please read the relevent license agreement)

    "Can't find access-point of procedure" means you are using the wrong DLLs. There are two sets of DLLs in the Qt SDK, one set for QtCreator and another for applications build with Qt. Use the other set and your application will run.

Similar Threads

  1. Releasing a program
    By Dante in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th April 2009, 17:25
  2. Releasing a program
    By Dante in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th April 2009, 20:43
  3. Releasing a program
    By Dante in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th April 2009, 20:20
  4. QImage destruction is not releasing memory.
    By node_ex in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th November 2008, 09:52
  5. Releasing open source software
    By djurodrljaca in forum General Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th September 2007, 21:55

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.