Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

    Hi
    I 'm a beginner in QT.
    My class's slots in my code do not work!!


    test.cpp:

    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QHBoxLayout>
    2. #include <QVBoxLayout>
    3. #include "test.h"
    4.  
    5. FindDialog::FindDialog( QWidget *parent): QDialog(parent)
    6. {
    7. label = new QLabel(tr("Find &what:"));
    8. lineEdit = new QLineEdit;
    9. label->setBuddy(lineEdit);
    10.  
    11. caseCheckBox = new QCheckBox(tr("Mach &case"));
    12. backwardCheckBox = new QCheckBox(tr("Search &backward"));
    13.  
    14. findButton = new QPushButton(tr("&Find"));
    15. findButton->setDefault(true);
    16. findButton->setEnabled(false);
    17.  
    18. closeButton = new QPushButton(tr("Close"));
    19.  
    20. connect(lineEdit,SIGNAL(textChanged(const QString &)),this,SLOT(this->enableFindButton(const QString &)));
    21. connect(findButton , SIGNAL(clicked()),this,SLOT(this->findClicked()));
    22. connect(closeButton,SIGNAL(clicked()),this,SLOT(close()));
    23.  
    24. QHBoxLayout *topLeftLayout = new QHBoxLayout;
    25. topLeftLayout->addWidget(label);
    26. topLeftLayout->addWidget(lineEdit);
    27.  
    28. QVBoxLayout *leftLayout = new QVBoxLayout;
    29. leftLayout->addLayout(topLeftLayout);
    30. leftLayout->addWidget(caseCheckBox);
    31. leftLayout->addWidget(backwardCheckBox);
    32.  
    33. QVBoxLayout *rightLayout = new QVBoxLayout;
    34. rightLayout->addWidget(findButton);
    35. rightLayout->addWidget(closeButton);
    36. rightLayout->addStretch();
    37.  
    38. QHBoxLayout *mainLayout = new QHBoxLayout;
    39. mainLayout->addLayout(leftLayout);
    40. mainLayout->addLayout(rightLayout);
    41. setLayout(mainLayout);
    42.  
    43. setWindowTitle(tr("Search"));
    44. setFixedHeight(sizeHint().height());
    45. }
    46.  
    47. void FindDialog::findClicked()
    48. {
    49. QString text = lineEdit->text();
    50. Qt::CaseSensitivity cs = caseCheckBox->isChecked() ? Qt::CaseSensitive : Qt::CaseInsensitive;
    51. if (backwardCheckBox->isChecked()) {
    52. emit findPrevious(text,cs);
    53. } else {
    54. emit findNext(text,cs);
    55. }
    56. }
    57.  
    58. void FindDialog::enableFindButton(const QString &text)
    59. {
    60. findButton->setEnabled(!text.isEmpty());
    61. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    test.h:

    Qt Code:
    1. #ifndef FINDDIALOG_H
    2. #define FINDDIALOG_H
    3.  
    4. #include <QtGui>
    5. #include <QDialog>
    6.  
    7. #include <QCheckBox>
    8. #include <QLabel>
    9. #include <QLineEdit>
    10. #include <QPushButton>
    11.  
    12. class FindDialog : public QDialog
    13. {
    14. Q_OBJECT
    15.  
    16. public :
    17. FindDialog(QWidget *parent = 0);
    18.  
    19. signals:
    20. void findNext(const QString &str , Qt::CaseSensitivity cs);
    21. void findPrevious(const QString &str , Qt::CaseSensitivity cs);
    22.  
    23. private:
    24. QLabel *label;
    25. QLineEdit *lineEdit;
    26. QCheckBox *caseCheckBox;
    27. QCheckBox *backwardCheckBox;
    28. QPushButton *findButton;
    29. QPushButton *closeButton;
    30.  
    31. private slots:
    32. void findClicked();
    33. void enableFindButton(const QString &text);
    34.  
    35. };
    36. #endif
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    main.cpp:

    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include "test.h"
    3.  
    4. int main(int argc,char *argv[])
    5. {
    6. QApplication app(argc,argv);
    7. FindDialog *fd = new FindDialog;
    8. fd->show();
    9. return app.exec();
    10. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    Please help me about this.
    Thanks
    Last edited by Lykurg; 25th December 2010 at 13:18. Reason: changed [qtclass] to [code]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

    Remove the extra 'this' pointer from the connect statements:
    Qt Code:
    1. connect(lineEdit,SIGNAL(textChanged(const QString &)),this, SLOT(enableFindButton(const QString &)));
    2. connect(findButton , SIGNAL(clicked()),this, SLOT(findClicked()));
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    LE:Next time, please use the code tags (the button #) to post code on the forum, it's goins to be easier to read, qtclass it's not for code posting.

  3. The following user says thank you to Zlatomir for this useful post:

    RHMK (26th December 2010)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    coimbatore,India
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

    hi,
    pls post ur code with [code] tag.
    where u r strucked?
    Bala

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

    Thanks
    I checked that on my pc not work then check it on another pc and worked !!!

    thanks again for your replay

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

    It should work on your pc too, use the Clean All (from Build menu), then Rebuild.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: SIGNAL and SLOT Problem

    Thanks
    I clean project and make again but not work on my pc anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th December 2010, 10:31
  2. Signal and Slot Problem
    By waynew in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th June 2010, 10:49
  3. problem connect signal - slot
    By jaca in forum Newbie
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 9th March 2010, 19:38
  4. signal / slot problem
    By franco.amato in forum Newbie
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 8th December 2009, 18:10
  5. problem with signal/slot
    By ihoss in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th August 2007, 22:59

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.