Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    For some reason QT Creator is not showing the debugging output. What's wrong?
    I just get this error:"Cannot retrieve debugging output!".

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    Check the date on the executable - is it recent? If not, then the linker can not write to the output file as the executable is already in use (probably already running in the background - use a task manager to find out)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    That's not the case, if it was that the error would be: "Application exited with -1 signal" or something of the sort.
    Debugging now is only possible trough debug mode.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    It seems that this is an error specific for Windows.

    You get the error in the case of:
    - a buffer ready event could not be created or does already exist
    - a data ready event could not be created or does already exist
    - a shared file for the debugger could not be created or does already exist (this is a system paging file according to MSDN)
    - a shared memory could not be created

    These things are all needed to read the debugger output

    Possible cause:
    - you have Qt Creater running twice on your system?
    - some debugging process in the background from a previous session is still running?
    Last edited by tbscope; 1st January 2011 at 23:04.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    306
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    Possible cause:
    - you have Qt Creater running twice on your system?
    - some debugging process in the background from a previous session is still running?
    None of the above, this happens every single time I use Qt Creator.
    Is there any useful log I should post here that would help?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    I think you should ask the Qt Creator developers.
    There are a few on the Qt mailinglists and in the Qt Creator IRC channel (freenode)

    The above is from reading the Qt Creator source related to the error message.
    What it effectively means is, at least for me, beyond my knowledge. In that code I don't see any log writing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    Where can i get the debugging setup (complete steps) for Qt creator..i m using mingw for compilation ..some stpes are missing in set up the debugger

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    Add to your .pro file to variable QT "debug".
    For example QT += gui debug.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    I met such problem before, with QtCreator for Windows. It would happen if the *.pro file is in UNIX format. Change it to DOS format and the problem disappears.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    hai guy

    I am working Qt with opencv using mingw, and i run my application
    I am too getting the same issue
    if u found error plz reply me how to rectify it

    Starting C:\Qt\Qt5.0.1\Tools\QtCreator\bin\ConsoleApp-build-Desktop_Qt_5_0_1_MinGW_32bit-Release\release\ConsoleApp.exe...
    Cannot retrieve debugging output.
    C:\Qt\Qt5.0.1\Tools\QtCreator\bin\ConsoleApp-build-Desktop_Qt_5_0_1_MinGW_32bit-Release\release\ConsoleApp.exe exited with code 0

    Thanking you
    karuna

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Iran, Tehran
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 PyQt3 PyQt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    I had this error and found that when two qtcreator are opened, the second will give this error!!! I didn't find out why!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    24
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Cannot retrieve debugging output!

    I have the same problem. Using QtCreator 2.8.1 and Qt 5.1.1 and qDebug() have never worked when i run the my application. If I run my application using the debugger I can see the application's output from qDebug().

    Does anyone know how to fix this?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th September 2010, 15:10
  2. retrieve code from DLL
    By kernel.roy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th September 2010, 09:03
  3. retrieve code from DLL
    By kernel.roy in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th September 2010, 07:21
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th September 2010, 00:00
  5. qmake debug/release scope and disabling debugging output
    By No-Nonsense in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th March 2007, 16:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.