Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: application that is not hidden when inactive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default application that is not hidden when inactive

    Hi everyone,

    I want to build an application that shows up in front of other applications. Basically that it doesn't hide when it isn't the active window. Is it possible to do this with Qt. Even better it might be to allow it to show up in the task bar or dock. What classes in Qt could I look at to do something like this.

    Ted

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: application that is not hidden when inactive

    Have a look at Qt::WindowStaysOnTopHint.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application that is not hidden when inactive

    As a side note, AFIK, this behavior depends on the window manager, so it could be that some native code will be needed on some systems.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Application crasches due to QMessageBox if hidden
    By dobedidoo in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th August 2012, 15:42
  2. QDockWidget gets hidden when closing application
    By Boron in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th February 2010, 09:00
  3. Inactive window Updation
    By csvivek in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st April 2008, 08:14
  4. My SDI application freezes when it is inactive ...why ?
    By yellowmat in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th September 2006, 16:37

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.