Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    Hi,

    After a long time searching through forums and websites... and after various attempts, I Finally compiled a Qt installation for WinCE. Some things that aren't mentioned anywhere that would solve some similar problems posted by other people that I too had to solve...
    Mainly, and this is a little help to other people having trouble at "configure -platform...", You have to install Qt libraries for windows VS2008! It didn't work anytime when I was trying with the mingw version.

    I installed Windows CE tools - Windows mobile 5.0 sdk.

    I installed Perl.

    Added to environment variables LIB, INCLUDE and PATH all that I could think of... so they ended up like this:
    PATH = C:\Perl64\site\bin;C:\Perl64\bin;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoo t%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowe rShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files\TortoiseSVN\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Shared;C:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\binn\;C:\Qt\4.7.1-VS\bin;C:\Qt\shadowbuild-mobile\bin;C:\Qt\4.7.1-VS;C:\Qt\2010.05\mingw;C:\Qt\2010.05\mingw\bin;C:\ Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\ce\bin\x86_arm
    LIB = C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\ce\lib\armv4i;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows CE Tools\wce500\Windows Mobile 5.0 Pocket PC SDK\Lib\ARMV4I
    INCLUDE = C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\ce\include;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows CE Tools\wce500\Windows Mobile 5.0 Pocket PC SDK\Include\Armv4i

    after all that and running the configure form the Qt VS2008 version folder I was able to compile without any errors... now here is my new headache:

    ...
    Qt is now configured for building. To start the build run:setcepaths.bat wincewm
    65professional-msvc2008 && nmake.
    To reconfigure, run 'nmake confclean' and configure.

    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile>setcepaths.bat wincewm65professional-msvc2008
    'checksdk.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    'tmp_created_script_setup.bat' is not recognized as an internal or external comm
    and,
    operable program or batch file.
    Could Not Find c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile\tmp_created_script_setup.bat
    Windows Mobile 6 Professional selected, environment is set up

    ////////at this point I don't know if the setcepaths worked... even though I tried diferently as you cann see below

    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile>cd bin

    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile\bin>setcepaths.bat wincewm65professional-msvc2008
    Could not find specified SDK: Windows Mobile 6 Professional SDK (ARMV4I)
    'tmp_created_script_setup.bat' is not recognized as an internal or external comm
    and,
    operable program or batch file.
    Could Not Find c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile\bin\tmp_created_script_setup.bat
    Windows Mobile 6 Professional selected, environment is set up
    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile\bin>nmake

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    NMAKE : fatal error U1064: MAKEFILE not found and no target specified
    Stop.

    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile\bin>cd ..

    //////Now I gave up and hoped for for the best...

    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile>nmake

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    cd src\winmain\ && "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\V
    C\BIN\nmake.exe" -f Makefile

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\BIN\nmake.exe" -f
    Makefile.Release

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    lib /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWSCE,5.02 /MACHINE:THUMB /LTCG /OUT:..\..\lib\qtmain
    .lib @C:\Users\HORMON~1.USI\AppData\Local\Temp\nm216B.t mp
    Microsoft (R) Library Manager Version 9.00.21022.08
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    tmp\obj\release_static\qtmain_win.obj
    tmp\obj\release_static\qtmain_win.obj : fatal error LNK1112: module machine type
    'X86' conflicts with target machine type 'THUMB'
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\
    VC\BIN\lib.EXE"' : return code '0x458'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\
    VC\BIN\nmake.exe"' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.

    c:\Qt\shadow-build-mobile>


    Can someone please enlighten me on this nmake error?

    I still haven't figured out why we have to build a Qt installation for winCE and why we cannot download it from anywhere...

    Another question... I've noticed that it creates a visual studio project called "projects", but it gives me an error when I open it (probably because I still have to make the nmake work). Now I have plugins that I'll need to compile for my WinCE application too. So, after I get the nmake to compile the damn Qt installation... Where will I put my project sources?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    Are you sure this is supposed to work with VS2008?
    A year or so back I did the same thing, and as far as I remember, the Qt configuration was not done for VS2008, and was only available for 2005.
    I ended up installing VS2005, and that worked.

    It could be that in the mean time VS2008 is also supported, but be sure to double check this.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    I'm not sure but I haven't read anywhere that it only works with VS2005... besides the Qt 4.7.1 library to download says (VS2008) dunno if it means that works with visual studio 2008.

    tmp\obj\release_static\qtmain_win.obj : fatal error LNK1112: module machine type
    'X86' conflicts with target machine type 'THUMB'
    this error I think that indicates that has something to do with my computer being x64... or does the choice of wincewm65professional interferes with my installed SDK version being 5.0?
    Last edited by rickrvo; 12th January 2011 at 17:38.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    I'm not sure but I haven't read anywhere that it only works with VS2005... besides the Qt 4.7.1 library to download says (VS2008) dunno if it means that works with visual studio 2008.
    Since it was some time back, you need to check what I say here, but - as far as I remember, the winCE CONFIGURATION did not support VS2008, only 2005.
    Read the readme files about installation and configuration.

    There is something I don't get:
    after all that and running the configure form the Qt VS2008 version folder I was able to compile without any errors... now here is my new headache:

    ...
    Qt is now configured for building. To start the build run:setcepaths.bat wincewm
    So you say you have compiled Qt and yet after that your run the build again?
    this error I think that indicates that has something to do with my computer being x64...
    I don't know about that.
    It depends if the Qt cross complication config supports x64 to WinCE.

    Maybe some other users who have more experience with cross compiling to WinCE can help you more about this issue.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  5. The following user says thank you to high_flyer for this useful post:

    rickrvo (13th January 2011)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    after all that and running the configure form the Qt VS2008 version folder I was able to compile without any errors...
    Sorry, my bad... I successfully ran configure without any errors.

    I was following this guide http://www.qtcentre.org/wiki/index.p..._on_Windows_CE The error was when I tried to nmake, as you can see on my first post.

    I found this saying that VS2008 is supported http://doc.troll.no/master-snapshot/...roduction.html

    I'll wait for someone to light my way then thanks anyway
    Last edited by rickrvo; 13th January 2011 at 16:22.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    Quote Originally Posted by rickrvo View Post
    Sorry, my bad... I successfully ran configure without any errors.

    I was following this guide http://www.qtcentre.org/wiki/index.p..._on_Windows_CE The error was when I tried to nmake, as you can see on my first post.

    I found this saying that VS2008 is supported http://doc.troll.no/master-snapshot/...roduction.html

    I'll wait for someone to light my way then thanks anyway
    Anyone? please help!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    ...No one?

    I've tried this on linux, windows 7 x64 and now with qt 4.71 vs2008 with qt add-in 1.1.7 on windows xp.... always the same error on nmake... when configuring for wince60professional-msvc2008 platform....

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Trying to compile Qt for Windows CE

    I tried every version.. mingw, vs2008 and now for windows ce... the errors above the U1077 are different but they all endup with U1077 error 0x2...

    please? anyone got any tips? or this configuration working?

Similar Threads

  1. Can't get Qt SDK to compile (Windows)
    By mrlucmorin in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th June 2010, 15:36
  2. Compile and deploy to Windows CE
    By Luc4 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th February 2010, 02:42
  3. How do I compile for linux on windows?
    By waitingforzion in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th December 2009, 07:51
  4. I can't compile my program in windows!!
    By brevleq in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th November 2007, 22:08
  5. Windows XP compile error 4.3.1
    By kroenecker in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th October 2007, 22:37

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.