Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Smile How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

    Hello everyone (first post),

    I would like to know how to configure my qt enviromment (in windows) to use a c++ source code library for qt. I would like to use the qtLua library (http://www.nongnu.org/libqtlua/) rather then QtScript. It is a library for qt that exposes Qt objects, making them "scriptable" in Lua. The library is available only in source code. My question is : Is there a way do just add the source code into my qt project, or should i compile qtLua first ? I'm using windows 7, Visual Studio 2005 with qt. All my g++, gcc, nmake e qmake seems to work perfectly. Thanks in advance for any help.

    Regards,

    Paulo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

    Is there a way do just add the source code into my qt project, or should i compile qtLua first ?
    Sure you can just add the qtLua to your project as source.
    The question is why would you want to do that?
    or should i compile qtLua first ?
    This is definitively the way to go.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

    Thanks for your help. However, just adding the source code to the project wouldn't not make it "runnable" anyway ? I mean, if it's a c++ library fo qt, reading the source code wouldnt make the job ?

    Regards,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

    Huh?

    Can you explain what do you mean?
    I understand the words, but they way you put them together makes no sense to me...

    "Runnable" is code that was compiled to binary. (VERY simply put, in the sense I think you might be talking)
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

    Sorry for not being clear. I'll try to explain better. My goal is to make a IDE for a script program that i deveveloped in lua programing language. For that, i want to use qtLua lib in order to "expose" the qt objetcs making them scriptable (at least, thats what it says in the site project). My question is : if i create, for example, a qt configuration dialog example through the wizard in qtcreator, could i use just include the qtLua source code then start to use it already, or do i have to compile it first ? If i compile it, how can i add it to my project ? I understand that for using qtLua, the qtlua source code must be included into my project. Or maybe not ? Perhaps i'm not getting how external libraries can be added and used in qt framework....

    Again, thanks for your answer, and i hope to have writen in a more compreensive way this time..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How do I add a qt source code library to my project ?

    Your questions show that you didn't built projects in C++ before, and surly didn't work with or built libs.
    This is not something you can just pick up form a forum post, and this forum is about helping with Qt specific issues not general programming or basic about programming.
    You are welcome to post questions about specific Qt issues,but how to link in general, or how to build libs is beyond the scope of this forum.

    Good luck!
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. QT Project source code
    By darpan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th December 2012, 17:16
  2. Qt Creator How to make Creator be aware of the Qt source code project?
    By kartwall in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th September 2010, 09:39
  3. Where is the source code?
    By Fletcher in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th December 2009, 21:45
  4. Source code
    By afflictedd2 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th November 2008, 10:04
  5. Qte source code
    By Gaurav vyas in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st July 2007, 15:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.