Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

    Hi,

    I've managed to get the program to compile! I don't know why it wasn't working on a x86 ubuntu desktop but I've installed a ubuntu x86_64 version on a virtual machine and the same code runs without any errors...

    Now the thing is that I'm trying to debug with Qt simulator for the N900.

    when I step over this line: pluginsDir = QDir (qApp->applicationDirPath());

    on the debugger the value for pluginsDir is <unavailable synchonous data> and exits the condition because it doesn't find any plugins...

    Do you know why this happens?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

    Let's make one thing clear - there is no "Qt simulator for X" where "X" stands for anything you want. Qt simulator is a platform in its own rights that uses the same executable as your desktop but it writes to a virtual framebuffer and can be fed bogus data from sensors and stuff like that. If you are missing plugins then your simulator platform is missing plugins and not your N900 environment.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    rickrvo (1st February 2011)

  4. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

    Let me clear my situation for you. First I tried to test my app under windows 7 on qt simulator. Here the debug works fine but as you told me it uses the desktop executables, so I wouldn't be testing it correctly under windows since when I compile for the Maemo the code is a bit different as my app has codes like this:

    #if defined(Q_OS_WIN32)
    fileName += ".dll";
    #endif
    #if defined(Q_OS_LINUX)
    fileName = "lib" + fileName + ".so";
    #endif
    #if defined(Q_OS_MAC)
    fileName += ".dylib";

    So I tried to use qt simulator under linux to make sure that when compiled for Maemo all the testing would be more accurate. But under windows qt simulator returns the pluginsDir = QDir (qApp->applicationDirPath()); to the correct windows folder... but under linux returns <unavailable synchronous data>...

    I think I'm out of ideas how to test my app... Under linux x86 the code wouldn't compile correctly... under linux x86_64 the same code compiles fine but qt simulator doesn't work. I tried installing MADDE n900 sdk and it said that it's not compatible with x86_64...

    What can I do? try to install MADDE for windows and test it there?

    I'm afraid that after spending lots of time trying to get this to work I won't be able to debug properly under windows 7 with MADDE with all the luck I'm having...

    please help me again lol

  5. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

    The simulator reacts to Q_WS_SIMULATOR. N900 reacts to Q_WS_MAEMO_5. If you want to test it for N900 then use Q_WS_MAEMO_5 and test it under an emulator.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    The simulator reacts to Q_WS_SIMULATOR. N900 reacts to Q_WS_MAEMO_5. If you want to test it for N900 then use Q_WS_MAEMO_5 and test it under an emulator.
    which emulator do you recommend? for ubuntu x86_64 under a virtual machine. or windows 7? and where can I find a reliable installation guide to that emulator?

    thanks

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    26
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create N900 app in Qt under Windows 7

    I've learned alot since the last post I've made here. I wanna tank you for all your help. I got everything to work. even created a deb file with plugins and works on the n900!!!

    now the only issue I have is this one on this forum.

    If you could help me just one more time...

Similar Threads

  1. Best way to create Windows Explorer type UI
    By scarleton in forum Newbie
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd August 2010, 19:30
  2. Create a windows application with sqlite
    By nittalope in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th August 2009, 18:52
  3. how to create multiple windows in QT
    By durgarao in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th January 2009, 14:47
  4. can't create qmake when installing at windows XP with win32-g++
    By owen_263 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st March 2008, 07:39
  5. How to create MDI windows using Qt4 designer?
    By miaoliang in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th October 2006, 08:50

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.