Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Gordion
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Hi to all Trolls,Qt fans and other ones

    As like you read!.. I want to make a Layer 2 application.. I need to work with arp packages. Didnt want to use libpcap...

    Java can do it, i cant understand, how a C++ library can't do.. Don't make me cry :'(

    Ok... Thats joke! But i'm reading documents nearly 2 weeks, searching, looking and also...

    I looked at many many documents about winsock/winsock2... I need a native solution about this ? I'm really overloaded...

    Best regards...
    Last edited by kosasker; 25th January 2011 at 20:26.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    What exactly do you consider "working with arp packages"? I can tell you upfront Qt won't be able to help you but we'll try to find a viable solution for you.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    I think that was meant to be "ARP packets" rather than packages.

    I looked at many many documents about winsock/winsock2... I need a native solution about this ? I'm really overloaded...
    Which platform(s) does this have to work on? What exactly do you need/want to do with ARP requests/responses? Just listening, actively participating?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Gordion
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Smile Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Thanks to reply, and sorry for my bad english.

    @wysota thanks
    @Chris Windows. I need the mac addresses on my network. I searched about it, and only! arp packets can do it!! Am i right ?

    So i want send arp packets to all computers on my local network and receive them. Thanks
    Last edited by kosasker; 26th January 2011 at 06:43.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Gordion
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Any suggestion ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    If on Windows only, you can use the arp command line tool.
    Use a QProcess to run the arp tool.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Gordion
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    I tried this. But arp cant get mac addresses on the network. Its just show arp table. I can use ping for several ip's. But if any machine which is closed for ICMP packets, its didnt work too..

    if i forget something please warn me. I cant send arp packets with using arp command. I'm looking for raw sockets now. Maybe i can find something.
    Thanks for reply.
    Please make suggestion again and again..
    Best regards.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Gordion
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Hi everyone. I made it, with winpcap. And its running good. I just didnt want to use winpcap more. By the way, my application running now and i can reach all mac addresses, on my local network. I need a different way about this. I'm thinking about write base codes with ASM.

    I need your ideas too, when i have done, it's license will be BSD exactly. Rock & Roll

    Best regards...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Since it is Windows only:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

    This was the top hit on a Google search for "windows send receive arp".

  10. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    kosasker (28th January 2011)

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Why are you talking about ASM? Changing the language doesn't do anything. You still have the same problem to solve.

    ChrisW67's response is probably the best you'll get however if all you want to do is arp packets.

  12. The following user says thank you to squidge for this useful post:

    kosasker (28th January 2011)

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Gordion
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Red face Re: Is there any way to make Layer 2 Network Applications with Qt library ?

    Sorry, i always used "qt" in search areas

    Thanks all

Similar Threads

  1. QT Library stop working on all applications
    By ikeban in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st January 2011, 08:25
  2. Creating Qt shared library for non-Qt applications
    By dimitar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th November 2010, 11:46
  3. How to use "make -j" for Qt Applications?
    By youkai in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th August 2010, 17:58
  4. UDP IP layer limit
    By mhoover in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st August 2009, 16:13
  5. Controlling which widget on top layer?
    By JonathanForQT4 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd March 2007, 14:27

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.