Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010


    Added after 7 minutes:


    I downloaded vcredist_x86 from Microsoft and installed it. The "repair mode" showed up, so it seems something was already there. I repaired it. Problem persisted.

    I ran vcredist_x86 again and uninstalled it, then installed it again. No gain.

    I downloaded vcredist_x64 (it's Windows 7 64 bit on the machine at work). Installed and test - same problem still there.

    Now I'm out of ideas.
    Last edited by Batox; 2nd February 2011 at 08:54.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Wroclaw, Poland
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanked 342 Times in 324 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    (...) same problem still there
    What is the problem exactly ? It looks to me like you've deleted a part of your original post.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    The problem is that when try to debug the program I get an error message box: "Unable to start program ... ... because the application configuration is incorrect. Review the manifest file ..."

    When I start it form the outside (by clicking the exe) I get the error message: "... Side-by-Side configuration invalid ...".

    As detailed in other posts with similar headings, this problem is normally solved by installing vcredist. Not in this case

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,536
    Thanked 284 Times in 279 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    But vcredist is only for release version. Runtime for debug version should be installed with Visual Studio. Ie. release library is msvcr90.dll and debug version is msvcr90d.dll.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    just "vcredist_x86" doesn't make sense anyway, there are different versions for each version of visual studio runtime libraries.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    Quote Originally Posted by Lesiok View Post
    But vcredist is only for release version. Runtime for debug version should be installed with Visual Studio. Ie. release library is msvcr90.dll and debug version is msvcr90d.dll.
    My thoughts exactly. I'm really at a loss what this message is trying to tell me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    I remember the same problem on Vista, and the solution was to download the Vista SP1 and then the problem was solved. However, there is no service pack for Windows 7 yet that I know of.

    Have you installed all updates of Visual Studio? Your error message points to a library fault, but which is a mystery.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Application configuration incorrect in VS 2010

    I initially ran into this problem on a machine which I use only occasionally. I didn't find a solution but it didn't really matter. Now I had to re-install my regular work computer from scratch, and there the exact same problem occured again.

    I did a more thorugh web search this time, and I found http://blog.paulnettleship.com/2010/...7-integration/, which indicates that the Qt binaries for Windows don't just need the VC2008 runtime redistributables, but an actual VC 2008 full installation, else it's impossible to debug the Qt application.

    So it's neccessary to to rebuild Qt for VC 2010:

    1. Get the sources from the download link (e.g. qt-everywhere-opensource etc..) and unpack them in the futre Qt directory.

    2. Include the Qt directory in the PATH

    3. Start the MSVC 2010 command prompt (Programs->MS Visual Studio 2010->Visual Studio Tools->Visual Studio Command Prompt (2010)

    4. Navigate to the Qt directory, execute configure.exe there, don't forget to include option you may need (in my case it was the ODBC driver). Wait 10 min or so.

    5. now run "nmake", and all should be fine... (wait ~3h)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th November 2010, 20:56
  2. Qt Creator Qt Creator "Application Configuration is incorrect"
    By RH-00 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th June 2010, 11:45
  3. Plan for Visual Studio 2010 (MSVC 2010)?
    By Vinzz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th April 2010, 17:42
  4. side-by-side configuration is incorrect
    By trueqt in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th August 2009, 00:35
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th May 2007, 10:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.