Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Using QtCreator on Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Using QtCreator on Ubuntu

    Hello, i'd been using Qt on Windows XP and decided to port my project to Ubuntu, using QtCreator.
    There was very little work involved, but I did get a surprise that all the object files were being created in the same directory as the source files as well as the executable.

    All of this despite the fact that if I right-clicked on the project icon and looked at the item "Define the compilation configuration" I had
    "Debug" as I had in Windows.

    I had expected the object and executable to be created in the Debug subdirectory.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using QtCreator on Ubuntu

    On unix systems the compilation is traditionally done in the same directory as the source files (or to be more precise in the "current" directory) and I'm not speaking about Qt but programming in general. If you wish to override this behaviour, add appropriate entries about the DESTDIR and optionally a couple of other variables to your project file.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Laval, France
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Using QtCreator on Ubuntu

    Thanks,
    Looking into the manual I adapted an example to do this:
    CONFIG += debug_and_release

    CONFIG(debug, debug|release) {
    TARGET = myApp
    DESTDIR = debug
    } else {
    TARGET = myApp
    DESTDIR = release
    }

Similar Threads

  1. QtCreator 2.0 crashes application working in QtCreator 1.3
    By been_1990 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st September 2010, 13:58
  2. Ubuntu 10.04 and Qt 4.62
    By fulin in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th May 2010, 17:42
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th February 2010, 08:28
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13th November 2009, 20:31
  5. Qt in Ubuntu
    By impeteperry in forum General Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th November 2008, 02:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.