Thread: Creator and DEF files

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Creator and DEF files

I'm trying to develop a DLL in Qt Creator. I'm new to Qt and Creator. I'm using windows and vs2010.

I want creator to use a DEF file for the DLL. How can I do that? I added a .def file to the project, it shows up in "Other files" and is apparently not being used.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Re: Creator and DEF files

It isn't used as it serves no purpose.

If you wish to use your DLL in QtCreator, provide the .lib and .dll files so that the dll can be imported into the executable, or just use the .dll file and use dynamic loading (meaning you write the codel to resolve the functions at runtime, rather than the OS doing it at load time). The later also allow you to exit gracefully with a better error message than the OS default.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

I'm trying to write a DLL with stdcall extern C functions defined (that make use of Qt), but will be used by a non-Qt program.

In VS I was able to use the DEF file to get around the name mangling that goes on with stdcall functions. Like I said, VS just uses the DEF file (at least I don't know where it's specified to the linker), but I can't see how to get Creator to use the def file.

Thanks
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits

Are you asking about Creator or MinGW?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

I'm using Creator / VS2010.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Maybe I'm attacking this from the wrong angle.