Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    Hi,

    I have an applciation with a simple status bar.

    normal.PNG

    The issue is whenever I resize the main window, the texts in the status bar are overlapping with each other.

    overlapped.PNG

    I want them to be a nicely cropped like any native windows application (e.g. Windows Word). Any idea on how to achieve that?

    Following code shows how I initialize the text in this status bar.

    Qt Code:
    1. void SSDMainWindow::createStatusBar()
    2. {
    3. statusLabel = new QLabel(tr("Ready"));
    4. statusLabel->setIndent(3);
    5. statusBar()->addWidget(statusLabel);
    6.  
    7. gridSpacingLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Grid Spacing: "));
    8. gridSpacingLabel->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft | Qt::AlignVCenter);
    9. gridSpacingLabel->setMinimumSize(gridSpacingLabel->sizeHint());
    10. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(gridSpacingLabel);
    11. //statusBar()->addWidget(gridSpacingLabel);
    12. gridSpacingLabel->setText(tr(" Grid Spacing:"));
    13.  
    14. xPosLabel = new QLabel(tr(" X: 640 "));
    15. xPosLabel->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft | Qt::AlignVCenter);
    16. xPosLabel->setMinimumSize(xPosLabel->sizeHint());
    17. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(xPosLabel);
    18. // statusBar()->addWidget(xPosLabel);
    19. xPosLabel->setText(tr(" X:"));
    20.  
    21. yPosLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Y: 480 "));
    22. yPosLabel->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft | Qt::AlignVCenter);
    23. yPosLabel->setMinimumSize(yPosLabel->sizeHint());
    24. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(yPosLabel);
    25. // statusBar()->addWidget(yPosLabel);
    26. yPosLabel->setText(tr(" Y:"));
    27.  
    28. widthLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Width: 640 "));
    29. widthLabel->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft | Qt::AlignVCenter);
    30. widthLabel->setMinimumSize(widthLabel->sizeHint());
    31. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(widthLabel);
    32. // statusBar()->addWidget(widthLabel);
    33. widthLabel->setText(tr(" Width:"));
    34.  
    35. heightLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Height: 480 "));
    36. heightLabel->setAlignment(Qt::AlignLeft | Qt::AlignVCenter);
    37. heightLabel->setMinimumSize(heightLabel->sizeHint());
    38. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(heightLabel);
    39. // statusBar()->addWidget(heightLabel);
    40. heightLabel->setText(tr(" Height:"));
    41.  
    42. unsavedDataLabel = new QLabel();
    43. QPixmap pixmap(":changes.png");
    44. unsavedDataLabel->setPixmap(pixmap);
    45. unsavedDataLabel->setMinimumSize(unsavedDataLabel->sizeHint());
    46. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(unsavedDataLabel);
    47. // statusBar()->addWidget(unsavedDataLabel);
    48. unsavedDataLabel->clear();
    49.  
    50. if (statusBarManager) {
    51. statusBarManager->connectUnsavedData(this, SLOT(unsavedData(bool)));
    52. statusBarManager->connectPositionChanged(this, SLOT(positionChanged(qreal, qreal)));
    53. statusBarManager->connectSizeChanged(this, SLOT(sizeChanged(qreal, qreal)));
    54. statusBarManager->connectGridSpacingChanged(this, SLOT(gridSpacingChanged(int)));
    55. }
    56. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Regards,
    Anirban

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,709
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    Then you have to avoid setting minimumSize on the labels.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. The following user says thank you to high_flyer for this useful post:

    anirbanjoy (29th March 2011)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    Thanks high_flyer,

    That removed the overlapping. But still the texts are getting cramped into each other.

    cramped.PNG

    I want the QLabels to maintain their width, and, if resized, they should go out of sight. Like it happens in MS Word or any other native MS app.

    Regards,
    Anirban

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,709
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    I see.
    Well, the current behavior is due to the fact that the QStatusBar has a layout inside it.
    But you want it with a fixed minimum (the minimum being the combined length of all the displayed information in it).
    I would therefore try to set a minimum width to the status bar.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    Unfortunately does not solve the problem.

    The proposed solution limits the minimum width of the whole application plus I do not see this hiding-of-text-on-resizing-application (as it works on native windows apps).

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,709
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    Hmm... maybe some one else can help you more.
    I think this is not possible with QStatusBar, without sub classing, and overwriting the layout behavior.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Overlapping text in QStatusBar

    I have some more inputs. It looks like a problem of base class QMainWindow. For the same code, Qt3 and Qt4 behaves in a different manner.

    Qt3:
    - beheaves like native windows apps. QStatusBar::addPermanentWidget really makes the widget permamanent. The user can not resize the main window in a way so that the permanent widgets are hidden.

    qt3.PNG

    Qt4:
    - On resizing certain texts of the supposed-to-permamnent-widget becomes hidden.

    qt4.PNG

    It's not recommneded to go back to Qt3. So, I need to find out how to take care of this issue in Qt4.

    I'm using the portedcanvas Qt example to single out this problem. I added a private method createStatusBar() in canvas.cpp:

    Qt Code:
    1. void Main::createStatusBar()
    2. {
    3. statusLabel = new QLabel(tr("Ready"));
    4. gridSpacingLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Grid Spacing: 20"));
    5. xPosLabel = new QLabel(tr(" X: 640 "));
    6. yPosLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Y: 640 "));
    7. widthLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Width: 640 "));
    8. heightLabel = new QLabel(tr(" Height: 480 "));
    9. unsavedDataLabel = new QLabel();
    10. QPixmap pixmap(":changes.png");
    11. unsavedDataLabel->setPixmap(pixmap);
    12.  
    13. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(gridSpacingLabel);
    14. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(xPosLabel);
    15. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(yPosLabel);
    16. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(widthLabel);
    17. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(heightLabel);
    18. statusBar()->addPermanentWidget(unsavedDataLabel);
    19.  
    20. statusBar()->addWidget(statusLabel);
    21. statusBar()->showMessage(tr("Showing Message"));
    22. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    This method is called at the end of constructor. Also note the small code change to switch between Qt3 and Qt4 [ Q"3"MainWindow(parent,name,f) ]

    Qt Code:
    1. Main::Main(QGraphicsScene& c, QWidget* parent, const char* name, Qt::WindowFlags f) :
    2. Q3MainWindow(parent,name,f),
    3. //QMainWindow(parent,name,f),
    4. canvas(c)
    5. {
    6. editor = new FigureEditor(canvas,this);
    7. QMenuBar* menu = menuBar();
    8.  
    9. Q3PopupMenu* file = new Q3PopupMenu( menu );
    10. file->insertItem("&Fill canvas", this, SLOT(init()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_F);
    11. file->insertItem("&Erase canvas", this, SLOT(clear()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_E);
    12. file->insertItem("&New view", this, SLOT(newView()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_N);
    13. file->insertSeparator();
    14. file->insertItem("&Print...", this, SLOT(print()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_P);
    15. file->insertSeparator();
    16. file->insertItem("E&xit", qApp, SLOT(quit()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Q);
    17. menu->insertItem("&File", file);
    18.  
    19. Q3PopupMenu* edit = new Q3PopupMenu( menu );
    20. edit->insertItem("Add &Circle", this, SLOT(addCircle()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_C);
    21. edit->insertItem("Add &Hexagon", this, SLOT(addHexagon()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_H);
    22. edit->insertItem("Add &Polygon", this, SLOT(addPolygon()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_P);
    23. edit->insertItem("Add Spl&ine", this, SLOT(addSpline()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_I);
    24. edit->insertItem("Add &Text", this, SLOT(addText()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_T);
    25. edit->insertItem("Add &Line", this, SLOT(addLine()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_L);
    26. edit->insertItem("Add &Rectangle", this, SLOT(addRectangle()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_R);
    27. edit->insertItem("Add &Sprite", this, SLOT(addSprite()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_S);
    28. edit->insertItem("Create &Mesh", this, SLOT(addMesh()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_M );
    29. edit->insertItem("Add &Alpha-blended image", this, SLOT(addButterfly()), Qt::ALT+Qt::Key_A);
    30. menu->insertItem("&Edit", edit);
    31.  
    32. Q3PopupMenu* view = new Q3PopupMenu( menu );
    33. view->insertItem("&Enlarge", this, SLOT(enlarge()), Qt::SHIFT+Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Plus);
    34. view->insertItem("Shr&ink", this, SLOT(shrink()), Qt::SHIFT+Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Minus);
    35. view->insertSeparator();
    36. view->insertItem("&Rotate clockwise", this, SLOT(rotateClockwise()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_PageDown);
    37. view->insertItem("Rotate &counterclockwise", this, SLOT(rotateCounterClockwise()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_PageUp);
    38. view->insertItem("&Zoom in", this, SLOT(zoomIn()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Plus);
    39. view->insertItem("Zoom &out", this, SLOT(zoomOut()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Minus);
    40. view->insertItem("Translate left", this, SLOT(moveL()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Left);
    41. view->insertItem("Translate right", this, SLOT(moveR()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Right);
    42. view->insertItem("Translate up", this, SLOT(moveU()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Up);
    43. view->insertItem("Translate down", this, SLOT(moveD()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Down);
    44. view->insertItem("&Mirror", this, SLOT(mirror()), Qt::CTRL+Qt::Key_Home);
    45. menu->insertItem("&View", view);
    46.  
    47. menu->insertSeparator();
    48.  
    49. Q3PopupMenu* help = new Q3PopupMenu( menu );
    50. help->insertItem("&About", this, SLOT(help()), Qt::Key_F1);
    51. help->setItemChecked(dbf_id, TRUE);
    52. menu->insertItem("&Help",help);
    53.  
    54. createStatusBar();
    55.  
    56. setCentralWidget(editor);
    57.  
    58. printer = 0;
    59.  
    60. init();
    61. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Anyone else? any other idea?

    Regards,
    Anirban

Similar Threads

  1. Widget Overlapping picture
    By bunjee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th November 2009, 14:50
  2. Overlapping Widgets and the Application
    By csvivek in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 16:32
  3. QGraphicsView overlapping items
    By juliarg in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th April 2007, 09:35
  4. overlapping QGraphicsItem problem!!
    By boss_bhat in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th January 2007, 11:36
  5. overlapping canvases
    By quickNitin in forum Newbie
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 8th October 2006, 11:22

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.