Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 33 of 33

Thread: question about dlls..

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Then you need to rebuild Qt and use static linking. You also need to read the license agreement about static linking.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,553
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,580 Times in 1,509 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Or use one of the many installer scripting programs to build a single installer executable that installs the multiple files you need to deploy.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Coimbatore,TamilNadu,India
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    I just need a single large executable file with all the dll's statically linked. Help me regarding this.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    We've already told you how to do this - you need to rebuild Qt.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Coimbatore,TamilNadu,India
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Could you explain this with the sample code..??

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Quote Originally Posted by Gokulnathvc View Post
    Could you explain this with the sample code..??
    linking is a different process than coding. There is no sample code for that. You need to learn how to configure and make.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Coimbatore,TamilNadu,India
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    I need to link the following dlls,
    libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll,mingwm10.dll,QtCore4.dll,QtGui4.dll,QtNetwor k4.dll.
    How to link them statically?
    These dll's are needed for my application to run.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    2

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Man,according to what they have said,you cannot bind all that into one executable.
    A method that I know,you can use is to make a SFX archieve(self extracting RAR),which will have the appearence of an .exe,but will extract itself behind the scenes.

    Otherwise,you'll need to re-build Qt,which means take the source code and re-complite it...

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Quote Originally Posted by Gokulnathvc View Post
    I need to link the following dlls,
    libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll,mingwm10.dll,QtCore4.dll,QtGui4.dll,QtNetwor k4.dll.
    How to link them statically?
    These dll's are needed for my application to run.
    Your not going to get a different answer by just asking the same question. You need to reconfigure the build of Qt, then rebuild Qt, and then rebuild your application.

    How to do that is described here: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/latest/deployment.html

    Note that static linking requires a different license than dynamic linking. Therefore ensure you read the license first or you may get sued.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Algarve, Portugal
    Posts
    287
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    You guys really should google about setup creators, like inno setup or click team install creator, wich are free and spend 5 minutes learning how to use them, because they are easy to learn. If you really want to do a static building than read the docs that already have been pointed out. I did it once and worked, althougt I don't think it's worth the trouble because of the license and because it's much easy to use a setup program. Your programs will look more "professional"
    __________________________________________________
    My projects: calculator MathGraphica ; SuperEpicMegaHero game ; GooglePlay ; bitbucket ; github
    Like my projects ? Buy me a kofi

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    Quote Originally Posted by squidge View Post
    Your not going to get a different answer by just asking the same question. You need to reconfigure the build of Qt, then rebuild Qt, and then rebuild your application.

    How to do that is described here: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/latest/deployment.html

    Note that static linking requires a different license than dynamic linking. Therefore ensure you read the license first or you may get sued.
    Out of curiosity, who will sue? Trolltech?

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    No, Nokia, as Nokia owns the license to the non-commercial version of Qt.

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: question about dlls..

    On Symbian (and, I think, Maemo) you can use the "smart installer" that will download missing DLLs. The source for the smart installer is, I believe, "open", so you could presumably adapt it for another platform (though it would be a lot of work).

Similar Threads

  1. Where are .dlls searched for?
    By Cruz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th October 2010, 15:40
  2. Linking to VB6 dlls
    By drmath in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th September 2010, 17:00
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 09:08
  4. Quick question regarding abstract classes and DLLs
    By durbrak in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th February 2007, 22:32
  5. Qt and dlls ?
    By probine in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 15:12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.