Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: qt-4.5.3 linking issue (excessive pthread)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default qt-4.5.3 linking issue (excessive pthread)

    I am using QT-4.5.3 on a 64bit Fedora 14 HP server.

    When I compile my applications I get a massive amount of "-pthread" appearing during the linking stage. The following is an example:

    "g++ -m64 -Wl,-rpath,/usr/local/qt-4.5.3/lib -o ctbfee .obj/main.o .obj/logger.o .obj/statuspane.o .obj/mainwindow.o .obj/moc_statuspane.o .obj/moc_mainwindow.o -L/usr/local/qt-4.5.3/lib -lQt3Support -L/usr/local/qt-4.5.3/lib -lQtSql -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -lQtXml -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -L/usr/X11R6/lib64 -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -pthread -lQtGui -pthread -lpng -lfreetype -pthread -lgobject-2.0 -lSM -lICE -pthread -pthread -lXrender -lfontconfig -lXext -lX11 -lQtNetwork -pthread -pthread -lQtCore -lz -lm -pthread -lgthread-2.0 -lrt -lglib-2.0 -ldl -lpthread"

    Is this a problem? If so, how can it be fixed.

    The reason I am worried about this is because I am getting invalid results (NaN's) from a call to a library function that I installed (BLAS). I was wondering if maybe these copies links of pthread were somehow corrupting the BLAS static libs. (Far fetched, I know, but the BLAS library looks good, and I am running out of ideas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 94 Times in 86 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: qt-4.5.3 linking issue (excessive pthread)

    Repeated library declarations will have no result, for bad or for good, on the final executable produced. It is safe to ignore them.

    It may be worth checking your project file to ensure it doesn't do anything unusual. But I've seen this sort of thing on older Qt releases for Solaris. It's just sloppiness in how the QMake defaults were put together that is otherwise harmless.

  3. The following user says thank you to SixDegrees for this useful post:

    Ronayn (7th April 2011)

Similar Threads

  1. -pthread havoc
    By Cruz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10th March 2010, 13:22
  2. pthread instead QThread
    By brevleq in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd December 2008, 08:16
  3. excessive/non GUI use of signals and slots
    By thalro in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 07:00
  4. static linking issue
    By ashwini in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 13:40
  5. linking
    By mickey in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd April 2006, 22:37

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.