Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Qt Creator debugger does not stop on breakpoints in non-Qt console applications? Bug?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt Creator debugger does not stop on breakpoints in non-Qt console applications? Bug?

    Qt Creator debugger does not stop on breakpoints in non-Qt console applications? Is this a bug or a feature?

    If I have this:


    #include <QtCore/QCoreApplication>

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QCoreApplication a(argc, argv);

    return a.exec();
    }

    Breakpoints work but if I remove the Qt stuff the debugger does not stop on the breakpoints anymore.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator debugger does not stop on breakpoints in non-Qt console applications?

    If you remove the Qt stuff from the above example then there is nothing to breakpoint on, as its probably all optimised out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator debugger does not stop on breakpoints in non-Qt console applications?

    Well, I have functions and stuff. The quote above was just to show what I'm removing. I want to brake and trace into these functions but the debugger passes over them if I'm just doing something like this:

    #include <iostream>
    #include "mylib.h>
    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {

    doSomething();
    cout << "something";
    doSomething2();



    return 0;
    }

    The debugger works on the following as expected:

    #include <QtCore/QCoreApplication>
    #include "mylib.h"

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QCoreApplication a(argc, argv);

    doSomething();
    cout << "something";
    doSomething2();


    return a.exec();
    }


    The same code in VS has no problems. So I guess it is a Qt Creator feature.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd November 2011, 08:30
  2. qt creator - breakpoints don't work
    By pmitas in forum Newbie
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 8th September 2010, 10:53
  3. Breakpoints set at a slot will not stop?
    By MorrisLiang in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th May 2010, 16:18
  4. Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints
    By TheSaw in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 15:53
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th March 2009, 11:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.