Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Replace -qt-zlib version from 1.2.3 to 1.2.5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    14
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Replace -qt-zlib version from 1.2.3 to 1.2.5

    Hi There,

    I have Qt 4.7.2 running but I am not particularly happy with the zlib what comes with Qt because of a few bugs such as http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-15071 (that is reported as closed and fix will come with Qt 4.8... does anybody know when and if it will come with zlib 1.2.3 or 1.2.5).

    Will there be something usable like QZip/QGZip there finally sin there is definitely a need for that (see http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-3897) - having just the internal stuff there and unpublished is... very far from being good, especially that QNetworkManager cannot handle chunked data anyhow else.

    Okay, I stop complaining now (about that otherwise fantastic library). The question is:
    - What I did: I replaced the src/3rdparty/zlib directory with the current zlib source
    - Edited src/3rdparty/zlib.pri - added new files and removed the ones no longer exist

    I run:
    C:\Qt\4.7.2>nmake confclean
    <Of course, it is okay>

    Next:
    C:\Qt\4.7.2>configure -nomake demos -nomake examples -debug-and-release -no-exceptions -no-accessibility -stl -qt-sql-mysql -qt-sql-odbc -qt-zlib -no-qt3support -platform win32-msvc2010 -I C:\mysql_c\mysql-connector-c-6.0.2\include -L C:\mysql_c\mysql-connector-c-6.0.2\libmysql\Debug -L C:\mysql_c\mysql-connector-c-6.0.2\libmysql\Release -l libmysql

    Configure finishes fine. The real stuff:
    C:\Qt\4.7.2>nmake
    <Compilation is fine>
    <Linker fails as>
    Creating library ..\..\lib\QtCore4d.lib and object ..\..\lib\QtCore4.exp
    gzclose.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _gzclose_r referenced in function _gzclose
    ..\..\lib\QtCore4d.dll : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
    NMAKE: fatal error U1077 ...
    Does anybody know what other files I need to edit besides the .pri file (what helps to get the thing compiled) in order to get it linked?

    Thanks
    Sandor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Replace -qt-zlib version from 1.2.3 to 1.2.5

    - Edited src/3rdparty/zlib.pri - added new files and removed the ones no longer exist
    Sounds like in this step you either forgot to add some files, or some other mistake.
    The linker complains it can't find a function, could be that a cpp file is not compiled, or its obj file is not bundled in the link command.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Creating an evaluation version or trial version
    By munna in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th June 2015, 01:50
  2. Replace widget on tab
    By wirasto in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th August 2010, 14:01
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th August 2009, 09:38
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th October 2008, 05:12
  5. How do I replace a widget?
    By pir in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th July 2006, 16:51

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.