Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Qt + databases + networking

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Lightbulb Qt + databases + networking

    Hi! I have to write a project and need your assistance.

    We should have: a server with a database, and 2 PCs with applications, which allow to add, delete and update entries in the database on the server (local network).

    What do I have to know in order to cope with the task?
    I'm new to Qt, I've been reading documentation and some Qt books, but I really can't struggle to cope with everything at once, and need some advice what to learn, and what of Qt I need .

    Thanx in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: Qt + databases + networking

    Quote Originally Posted by boolBoy View Post
    We should have: a server with a database, and 2 PCs with applications, which allow to add, delete and update entries in the database on the server (local network).
    This is a very classic and common problem. Just set up a MySQL server (or something else). Read the documentation carefully on how to set it up and protect everything.
    Really learn how to use SQL.

    As for the programs themselves, Qt allows you to easily connect and work with the database. See the QtSql module for documentation and examples.

    What do I have to know in order to cope with the task?
    Apart from what I already said above, this is a too easy question to answer with an insult, so I guess I leave it with a comment to use common sense.

    ..., but I really can't struggle to cope with everything at once, ...
    It's "struggle with" or "can't", not both as that would be a double negation.

    You start with the basics: how does a computer work.
    Then you can start with basic C++
    If you have a decent knowledge of computers and C++, you can start with Qt

    Just do not expect to do this in one day.

Similar Threads

  1. networking
    By panyang in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th February 2011, 10:53
  2. QT non-gui networking
    By MAbeeTT in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st August 2009, 20:47
  3. Qt and databases
    By gt.beta2 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th February 2009, 09:39
  4. Qt-3 and networking
    By a550ee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd October 2006, 12:15
  5. Networking Help please
    By munna in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th September 2006, 10:35

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.