Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Qwt Installation Help

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qwt Installation Help

    Hi, I've been using QtCreator for a while and recently discovered a need to create plots graphs and charts in a particular application. I was originally going to do this from scratch using QGraphicsView, but I heard Qwt was a good option.

    Anyway, to get to the point, I have so far followed the instructions in the INSTALL file, including building the examples (which work fine).
    I'm currently trying to work out how to include it in my own applications, as well as placing the widgets in the GUI.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    When you are using qmake project files for your application add "CONFIG += qwt" to it. Of course you need to configure qmake before - but this all is explained in the INSTALL file.

    Uwe

  3. The following user says thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    darkblackcorner (11th May 2011)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    Thanks, I did miss the final step!

    Ok so I know I can access the qwt files now (the autocomplete works!), but I still can't place widgets in the UI editor. Is there a way to get this working?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    "make install" also installs the designer plugin - all you need to do is to tell the Creator how to find it. Look at the end of the INSTALL file about how to do it.

    A common source of problems on Windows is, when you are using a binary package of the Creator, that has been build with a different compiler than the one you have used for building Qwt ( MinGW, MSVC ). Also you can't load a debug Qwt plugin into a Qt Creator, that has been buit in release mode ( and v.v ).

    Uwe

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    Ok, so I've tried copying the plugin files to the plugin directory but to no avail. Nevermind.

    Should I try something like this in the Qt command line?
    Qt Code:
    1. qmake -set QT_PLUGIN_PATH "C:\qwt-6.0.0\plugins\designer"
    2. qmake -set LD_LIBRARY_PATH "C:\qwt-6.0.0\lib"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Or should it only appear in the *.pro file where I want to use it?

    Thanks
    Last edited by darkblackcorner; 11th May 2011 at 20:22.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    QT_PLUGIN_PATH is an environment variable ( like PATH ) and LD_LIBRARY_PATH is for Linux systems - on Windows it is PATH.

    Uwe

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    Ok, to summarise I've done the following steps:

    Qt Code:
    1. Unzip Qwt to "C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0"
    2. Edit qwtconfig.pri: uncomment QwtExamples, comment QwtDll, set win32 install prefix to C:/qwt-$$QWT_VERSION
    3. Open Qt command line and use the commands:
    4. qmake qwt.pro
    5. mingw32-make
    6. mingw32-make install
    7. qmake -set QMAKEFEATURES "C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    So the next step is to open WinXP system properties>environment variables and add:
    "QT_PLUGIN_PATH = C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0\plugins\designer"
    right?
    Would it be easier if I move the qwt files to the relevant places within the qt directory?
    What exactly do I need to do?

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    Isn't it qmake -set QMAKEFEATURES "C:\qwt-6.0.0\features" ? (your install folder).

    Then you copy qwt.dll to %QTDIR%\bin and qwt_designer_plugin.dll to %QTDIR%\plugins\designer to have Qwt in Designer.
    Last edited by Troudhyl; 14th May 2011 at 16:25.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    I'm not sure. The INSTALL file said to set it to find qwt.prf which for me is in C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0\
    That got it working for the "include" headers anyway, but no widgets available in creator UI editor.

    Do you have it working? What did you do?

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    It is the same thing in fact, because qwtconfig.pri is at the 2 places and contains absolute paths... But if you want to use qwtmathml, it is only in installfolder/features.

    Then you copy qwt.dll to %QTDIR%\bin and qwt_designer_plugin.dll to %QTDIR%\plugins\designer to have Qwt in Designer.
    Works for Designer but not QtCreator (I tried to do the same thing in QtCreator folder... maybe it is because of a different Qt version (4.7.1 vs 4.7.3 if you installed the QtSDK 1.1), or Qt Creator compilation ?
    Edit : here it is... http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtcreator-sn...ing-build-keys
    Last edited by Troudhyl; 14th May 2011 at 16:53.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qwt Installation Help

    Yes, I'm using the SDK. I don't have MSVC and to be honest I'd rather just stick with Qt.
    So should I start from scratch ie: install Qt, then build and install creator, then build and install qwt?

    With regards to my progress installing qwt, do I just need to copy the .dll files to their respective locations, or is there more to it?

Similar Threads

  1. Need Installation Help?
    By Chase in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th April 2011, 10:26
  2. Installation on AIX 5.3
    By micrinho in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 16:10
  3. Qt 4.6.1 Installation
    By JulioCastro in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th February 2010, 07:36
  4. Qt for s60 installation
    By addu in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th August 2009, 11:37
  5. Qt installation
    By jay in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th May 2008, 15:24

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.