Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Does WebKit have http connecting module?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Does WebKit have http connecting module?

    hi,

    I am a beginner of WebKit. It looks like WebKit doesn't have an API about setting proxy.

    Previously when I was using Molliza sdk, I can set proxy by:

    nsCOMPtr<nsIProtocolProxyService> proxyService =
    do_GetService("@mozilla.org/network/protocol-proxy-service;1", &nrv);

    I find an interesting thing: When you want to set proxy in Chrome or Safari, actually you are setting system level proxy. I guess the proxy module in Chrome and Safari is not related to WebKit module, but not sure.

    I also find in QT, you can set proxy in application by :

    #include <QNetworkProxy>
    ……
    QNetworkProxy * proxy = new QNetworkProxy();
    proxy->setHostName("localhost");
    proxy->setPort(8888);
    proxy->setType(QNetworkProxy::HttpProxy);
    QNetworkProxy::setApplicationProxy(*proxy);

    Many QtWebKit based open source browser implement the proxy in this way. This module looks not related to QtWebKit, but belongs to QtCore.

    So does this mean WebKit is just for rendering, and it doesn't have module for http conecting? I previously thought WebKit should have every module like Molliza Gecko. Browsers based on WebKit will just need to implement UI. But the thing doesn't look like this..

    Thanks for any help!!

    Cheers,
    Yanke

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Does WebKit have http connecting module?

    QtWebKit uses QNetworkAccessManager for HTTP which is implemented purely inside Qt framework. However QNAM is driven by QWebPage.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    huyanke (13th May 2011)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Does WebKit have http connecting module?

    Thanks so much for confirming !! wysota

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with Qt webkit module.
    By sargsyan.taron in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th March 2011, 08:24
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd September 2010, 15:20
  3. GPS module connecting
    By radeknati in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th April 2010, 15:03
  4. Qt Svg Module
    By onurozcelik in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th March 2010, 06:47
  5. Zip module for Qt
    By arpspatel in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th October 2009, 06:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.