Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Using Maps without internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Using Maps without internet

    Hi Guys,

    Is there a way of using the QML MAP element without having access to the internet? I am thinking of a way to use the integrated OVI Maps (that can be downloaded before). By using some sort of API…

    Could this be even done, or we are obliged in using the internet?

    I am having a look at this example: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtmobility-1...mapviewer.html

    I deploy my application on a E7 device and the map loads nicely if a have the Wi-Fi enabled and connected to a wireless network. But when I turn the Wi-Fi off and start the application I have the error:
    Qt Code:
    1. [Qt Message] "Network session error."
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    In the example, the Map element is defined like:

    Qt Code:
    1. Map {
    2. id: map
    3. plugin : Plugin {
    4. name : "nokia"
    5. }
    6. size.width: parent.width
    7. size.height: parent.height
    8. zoomLevel: 7
    9. .
    10. .
    11. .
    12. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Do I need to change the plugin to a different one? But which?

    Regards,
    wladek
    One second is long, everything longer than two seconds is definitely too long.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Maps without internet

    You probably need to develop your own plugin that will only query the offline storage for ovi maps.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Using Maps without internet

    And what guidelines should I follow while developing this kind of a plugin?

    wladek.
    One second is long, everything longer than two seconds is definitely too long.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Maps without internet

    No idea. Implement appropriate virtual methods properly
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Using Maps without internet


Similar Threads

  1. Mercator for google static maps
    By daarsh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th September 2010, 11:43
  2. Google Maps API and Qt 4 desktop app integration
    By udit in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th September 2009, 19:03
  3. Qt & Goole Maps
    By codeman in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th June 2009, 16:34
  4. Map is not displayed from maps.google.com
    By abhilashajha in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th June 2009, 14:19
  5. need help about calibrating scanned maps.
    By high_flyer in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th July 2006, 18:27

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.