Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Create a skin for Command Prompt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Hello,

    I'm actually wondering if there is a similar application as Command Prompt (cmd.exe in Windows), but with some cooler (graphical) style?

    Something like this:


    Anyway, is this possible to make this with QT Designer? I was thinking of something like making a skin for Command Prompt, then e.g. write myskin.exe xcopy C:\test C:\ in cmd to call the commands in my own skin (or window if you like).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Quote Originally Posted by Jh_ View Post
    Anyway, is this possible to make this with QT Designer?
    Qt Designer is just a designer, you can't code in it, but should be doable with Qt (you'll need QProcess to communicate with cmd.exe).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Question Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Quote Originally Posted by jacek View Post
    Qt Designer is just a designer, you can't code in it, but should be doable with Qt (you'll need QProcess to communicate with cmd.exe).
    I see, havent really used QT Designer myself. I'm just considering if it's worth paying someone to create this, if it doesnt already exists (What do you think?)
    But I'm just curious, do you think you would have had to re-create the standard cmd.exe itself, and then implement it with your GUI? Or would it be possible to implement the standard cmd.exe with your own GUI some way?

    Thanks for the answere by the way

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Quote Originally Posted by Jh_ View Post
    But I'm just curious, do you think you would have had to re-create the standard cmd.exe itself, and then implement it with your GUI? Or would it be possible to implement the standard cmd.exe with your own GUI some way?
    You would spawn and attach to cmd.exe instance from within your gui application and "talk" to it (send it some commands and fetch output from it).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    You would spawn and attach to cmd.exe instance from within your gui application and "talk" to it (send it some commands and fetch output from it).
    Ah, it shouln't be so hard then (Am I right? )

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    No, it shouldn't. Of course it depends what you intend to do with it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Yes, I know old thread, but as further input, you can include <stdio.h> and <stdlib.h> and use the system() command which is basically what cmd.exe does. Design a command prompt with designer, and then connect your chat box to the system command. Then print the results by connecting to the console window.

    It's quite difficult, I would think, unless you do what these guys are saying and use like a communication protocol through windows with cmd.exe.

    However, my question is how do we make stylesheets or whatever, to skin a program?
    I hope I won't have to edit every control with like QPainter or something. I been looking at the Style and StyleSheet tutorial, but since they don't explain what things like .qss .qrc do, I cannot tell how to do it. Is there a simpler example?
    Last edited by VireX; 19th March 2007 at 02:31.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    If your question is different then why do you ask it in this thread?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Because, obviously I am asking about skinning, which is the TOPIC of this thread, so instead of wasting space and making a completely new thread; I chose to write it in the same thread where if someone had found it, they would find the answer to this question also and it would help many people out. Anyway, regardless, I already figured out the answer in the docs...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Quote Originally Posted by VireX View Post
    Because, obviously I am asking about skinning, which is the TOPIC of this thread, so instead of wasting space and making a completely new thread; I chose to write it in the same thread where if someone had found it, they would find the answer to this question also and it would help many people out. Anyway, regardless, I already figured out the answer in the docs...
    Actually this thread is about creating a GUI for a cmd.exe. IMO "wrapper" would be a more appropriate word than "skin", but certainly it doesn't have anything to do with skins and stylesheets.

    We believe that it is better to have a single thread for each problem, than mixing several loosely connected problems in one thread, so unless you have exactly the same problem, please, post it in a new thread (you can always add a link to original thread: "I have a simmilar problem that was discussed in this thread, but what I'm trying to do is...").

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    Considering that this is the ONLY SINGLE topic that comes up when searching for skinning... and it had it in the title, and if someone didn't know about stylesheets or styles that I recently learned about, they would say this is the only thread directly connected with stylesheets.

    Next time, I will post a new thread, you guys don't have to be so pissed off about it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Create a skin for Command Prompt

    We're not pissed off. We just want to keep it clean here and we want you to understand why. Under other circumstances we'd probably split the thread and don't even bother you, but we can't do it without changing the contents of your post (otherwise the post won't make sense).

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th October 2006, 17:40
  2. How to create an Insert/Submit button for a form.
    By fnmblot in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th August 2006, 17:18
  3. Is it possible to create a QThread without inheriting ?
    By probine in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd March 2006, 23:51
  4. How to create directories??
    By paranoid_android in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th March 2006, 17:28
  5. create file in another directory
    By raphaelf in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th February 2006, 11:04

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.