Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Pop Up Windows in Qt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Pop Up Windows in Qt

    Hi, I'm new to Qt and I wanted to make a gui for a program I was making. What I want to know is how exactly do you make a pop up window for a program because my program is intended to check a website and tell you if an update had occurred. Originally I just made it print out something like "Update" on the command line. But since I added a GUI I want it to now have a dialogue box come up that says "Update" when an update does occur. Also could someone tell me how to make another dialogue box with a list that just keeps track of all previous updates like in my original one i had "Update 8:45" and "Update 9:00" with the time it happened next to it . So I want to make some kind of window, dialogue box, or tab that keeps track of it or at least dumps out the string of it into a list continuously after each update. Help please I'm really desperate right now >.>, I really appreciate it.
    Last edited by AlecC; 6th June 2011 at 02:17.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Pop Windows in Qt

    What have you tried? QDialog for example?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Pop Windows in Qt

    So far I've tried to reproduce what an example from QtCreator did, the AddressBook example. They had a button in a dialogue box which opened up another dialogue box to insert addresses and I tried to make it so that instead of clicking the button as a signal I would use something that would automatically tell the dialogue box to appear when an update occurred. The only problem is I don't know how to define that signal because so far I've only been working with clicked() as a signal.


    Added after 1 53 minutes:


    Actually this signals and slots problem is what is really getting me. Do you have any advice or do you know of a good tutorial for signals and slots because I have already read the one provided at http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/signalsandslots.html and I still don't feel like I have a good understanding of it. Signals can be created by adding emit at the end of a method (along with some other stuff), but I do not understand what to emit and ho would it emit because the tutorial said that it would emit due to a change in a function but it is pretty vague on what that change is.
    Last edited by AlecC; 6th June 2011 at 04:03.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th September 2010, 14:22
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th July 2010, 06:25
  3. Program runs on Windows 7, crashes on Windows XP
    By JovianGhost in forum General Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th June 2010, 00:55
  4. Deployment Procedure On Windows On Linux and Windows
    By Harshith J.V. in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th July 2009, 11:27
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th February 2007, 00:23

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.