Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    186
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Take a timeout! What are your other options? java? wxWidgets?

    If you can spare it, and have experience with Visual Studio, get the commercial edition of Qt w/ the VS integration, it'll be wayyyy easier to use.
    Software Engineer



  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Quote Originally Posted by dKoder View Post
    -plugin-sql-mysql
    -plugin-sql-psql
    If you want to build those plugins you must tell Qt where it can find proper libraries. For example like this:
    configure -plugin-sql-psql -I C:\Postgres\include -L C:\Postgres\lib
    make
    (where C:\Postgres is a directory where PostgreSQL libraries were installed).

    Everything is explained here: http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/sql-dri...-7-3-and-above
    Note also that you can compile those plugins later (just remember that you shouldn't use paths with spaces).

    Quote Originally Posted by dKoder View Post
    I have been trying to get QT to install since last Friday and I don't feel I'm any better off that when I started. Will someone show some conpasion and just shoot me?
    But you're making a lot of progress. Now you have a working toolchain and you got past that problem with moc compilation.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    This is true, however now qmake doesn't work. Before qmake worked to make the Makefile but minwg-32-make didn't now things are reversed and minwg-32-make works and qmake doesen't. So I can't even build the drivers.
    Last edited by dKoder; 3rd November 2006 at 23:15.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Quote Originally Posted by dKoder View Post
    This is true however qmake doesn't. Before qmake worked to make the Makefile but minwg-32-make didn't now things are reversed and minwg-32-make works and qmake doesen't. So I can't even build the drivers.
    Delete the C:\Qt\4.2.1\configure.cache file, open "Qt 4.x.x Command Prompt", run configure (without any parameters) and then mingw32-make and tell me what happened.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Quick check of executables follows:

    C:\Qt\projects\helloWorld>qmake
    'qmake' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Qt\projects\helloWorld>mingw32-make
    mingw32-make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Quote Originally Posted by dKoder View Post
    C:\Qt\projects\helloWorld>qmake
    'qmake' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    Have you tried it from the "Qt 4.x.x Command Prompt"? Is "C:\Qt\4.1.2\bin" included in PATH environment variable?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    To answer your question, no. However when I added "C:\QT\4.2.1\bin" to the path, run qmake and mingw32 I actually get an executable. "hello.exe" However when I run the executable I get several errors resulting in 'can find *.dll'. I tried moving the EXE to the QT directory, which is in the PATH, but I get the same errors. But, at least I'm creating an exe now. So there is now a dim light at the end of this very long tunnel.

    Thanks for sticking with me!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Quote Originally Posted by dKoder View Post
    when I run the executable I get several errors resulting in 'can find *.dll'.
    Copy all of those DLLs to the directory where your executable is and it should run. You can also add C:\Qt\4.2.1\lib to some environment variable, but I don't remember which one (search the MSDN for information where windows looks for DLLs and in what order).

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Now I'm really getting somewhere. I have an working exe .

    If you remember you had me to rerun Configure without any parameters. Do I dare run it again with the desired parameters?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt4 -vs6-w2k

    Quote Originally Posted by dKoder View Post
    If you remember you had me to rerun Configure without any parameters. Do I dare run it again with the desired parameters?
    It should work without any problems, just remember that if you want to compile PostgreSQL or MySQL driver, you have to add -I and -L options with proper values.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.