Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Release icons not showing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sri Lanaka
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    39
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Post Release icons not showing

    I have a Qt application... i build it using visual studio 2008...
    When i get a release build, the applications runs fine,but icons do not appear.
    I need to run the application on PC that do not have QT installed..
    Witch files should i include inside my application*folder?? (to get the icons)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Napoli, Italy
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    What do you menas with "but icons do not appear."?

    The application icon or all icons in you program??
    A camel can go 14 days without drink,
    I can't!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sri Lanaka
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    39
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    icons in my application do not appear on release mode... on debug mode icons appear..
    i have icons in .qrc file..
    any idea why??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Napoli, Italy
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    Have you rebuild when switched in Release mode?

    can you post your .pro file??
    A camel can go 14 days without drink,
    I can't!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sri Lanaka
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    39
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    Have you rebuild when switched in Release mode?
    Yes,
    and I got the files to a new folder.. with qtcore.dll and other .ddl's files that require to run the application.


    .pro file
    Qt Code:
    1. TEMPLATE = app
    2. TARGET = MyApplication
    3. DESTDIR = ./Release
    4. QT += core gui network qtmain
    5. CONFIG += debug
    6. DEFINES += QT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT QT_NETWORK_LIB
    7. PRECOMPILED_HEADER = StdAfx.h
    8. RESOURCES = MyApplication.qrc
    9. DEPENDPATH += .
    10. MOC_DIR += ./GeneratedFiles/release
    11. OBJECTS_DIR += release
    12. UI_DIR += ./GeneratedFiles
    13. RCC_DIR += .
    14. include(MyApplication.pri)
    15. win32:RC_FILE = MyApplication.rc
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Napoli, Italy
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    Some questions:

    1. Why "CONFIG += debug" ?
    2. Why "QT += qtmain" ?
    3. What is the contents of CONFIG += debug?
    A camel can go 14 days without drink,
    I can't!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sri Lanaka
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    39
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    Why "CONFIG += debug" ?
    What is the contents of CONFIG += debug?
    my mistake.. i copied the .pro file while the configuration is in debug mode
    this changes to CONFIG += release and CONFIG += release when i change the project properties to Release mode...

    Why "QT += qtmain" ?
    thats a default configuration that comes with the .pro file

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sri Lanaka
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    39
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Release icons not showing

    found the answer for this problem
    copy the "QT\4.7.3\plugins" folder to your application directory
    then

    Qt Code:
    1. QString sLibPath = QDir::currentPath() + "\\plugins\\";
    2. QApplication::addLibraryPath(sLibPath);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Similar Threads

  1. Action Icons not showing when running app
    By jimmydean101 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th February 2011, 15:35
  2. showing icons - setPixmap problem
    By Tomasz in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th November 2010, 17:37
  3. Where to get Icons from
    By pospiech in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th December 2008, 21:14
  4. Showing QMainWindow without showing a child QWidget
    By discostu in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th March 2007, 09:03
  5. svg icons not showing up
    By ePharaoh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th April 2006, 15:56

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.