Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: QProcess : unable to start sis file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default QProcess : unable to start sis file

    Hi All,

    I am trying to install an app through an updater app on my Nokia E52 handset.

    Updater application is basically checks for new version and donwloads the SIS file. I want to install this downloaded SIS file when user clicks on 'Install Updates' button.

    I have tried QProccess.Start() but it does not do anything.

    Qt Code:
    1. qStartIntall = new QProcess(this);
    2. qStartIntall->start("C:\\Data\\DOWNLOADED_APP.sis", QIODevice::ReadWrite);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Just added code to trap error returned by QProcsess

    I got QProcess::FailedToStart


    Please give direction or code or example ......... anything please.

    Kind Regards,
    Javed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QProcess : unable to start sis file

    Try system("C:\\Data\\DOWNLOADED_APP.sis")

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QProcess : unable to start sis file

    Try system("C:\\Data\\DOWNLOADED_APP.sis") ..... no joy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default run SIS file

    Hi All,

    I need to run SIS file on handset (Nokia E52) through code. Think of this as an auto updater app that downloads the latest version of target app and installs it automatically.

    Please direct.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: run SIS file

    Threads merged.
    Please don't multi post.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QProcess : unable to start sis file

    "Please don't multi post." not my intention. I apologise, but i am not getting any direction on this issue, really getting desperate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QProcess : unable to start sis file

    You can "bump" the same thread if you want to revive it.
    No need to post a new thread.
    If you are not getting any answers, then no one knows the answer...
    Bumping the thread after a day or two might help, but if over longer time no one responds, then no one knows the answer (or maybe your question isn't clear enough)
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th April 2011, 08:51
  2. QProcess - Failed to start
    By sankar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st March 2011, 06:57
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th March 2011, 21:55
  4. QProcess start() failure
    By jacek_ in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th November 2009, 14:04
  5. QProcess to Start App
    By ManuMies in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2009, 12:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.