Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: sharing Memory between 2 processes (vs2008 application and Qt application )

  1. #1

    Default sharing Memory between 2 processes (vs2008 application and Qt application )

    hi guys,

    i successfully implemented share memory Using a File Mapping for IPC between two vs2008 applications
    ( CreateFileMapping + CreateMutex...)

    for more info:

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...ng_dde_for_ipc

    I'm wondering how to do that between a QT application and a VS2008 program?

    I checked a previous post here, but, still confused.
    http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/2701...pplication-%29


    I also checked QSharedMemory in QT, but, still didn't figure out how to do that. please help. thanks a lot!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    Posts
    469
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 90 Times in 88 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: sharing Memory between 2 processes (vs2008 application and Qt application )

    Hi Christian,

    what is keeping you from doing it exactly the same way? IPC = processes running on the same machine = same OS = same API accessible. Furthermore you know already how to do it.

    Joh

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,710
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: sharing Memory between 2 processes (vs2008 application and Qt application )

    ...and, what do you mean by vs2008 application?
    VS2008 is an IDE that uses the MS development tool-chain.
    Since you can develop Qt applications with VS2008, where is the difference then between a Qt application developed with VS2008 and non Qt application developed with VS2008?
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. application seems to eat up memory
    By priceey in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th December 2010, 11:12
  2. Lugdulo'V: bike sharing application
    By iksaif in forum Qt-based Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st September 2010, 14:35
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th January 2010, 16:55
  4. MDI application memory issue
    By sirQit in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th July 2009, 19:32
  5. How to measure memory of Qt Application,
    By rajeshs in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th July 2007, 17:03

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.