Thread: Qwt 6.0.1 three times slower than 5.2.0

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Question Qwt 6.0.1 three times slower than 5.2.0

Hello,

I'm new to the forum so I would like to take this opportunity and say "Hi" to everyone.

I'm using Qt for several years now but I'm fairly new to Qwt.

At the moment I'm evaluating if it's worth moving to Qwt 6.0.1 from 5.2.0.
    6.0.1 has many new and interesting features but there's a problem.
    I was able to plot 2 million points in less than 1500ms but after moving to 6.0.1 the same operation takes 5000ms+!

Quick look at what's going on revealed that using QPainter:drawPolyline() in the float version seems to kill the performance (forcing qwt to use int version takes 2000ms to plot 2 million points).

Is there a way to switch qwt to use integers?
    I think I know the answer, so I'll follow up with another question - why qwt is using now floats when the performance is so much poorer?

Is there anything I could do to improve the performance (except messing with qwt source)?

Best Regards!

Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: Qwt 6.0.1 three times slower than 5.2.0

Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
    ... why qwt is using now floats
    Because of backends, that are float ( today PDF/SVG ) based. The main use case is PDF, where you can zoom in/out later in the PDF viewer seeing differences between points, that are mapped to the same position in default resolution.

Quick look at what's going on revealed that using QPainter:drawPolyline() in the float version seems to kill the performance (forcing qwt to use int version takes 2000ms to plot 2 million points).!
    Please do more than a quick look - there are a couple of other differences between 5.2 and 6.0. F.e the default setting for polygon clipping is enabled on Qwt 6.