Thread: Need help installing Qwt

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Need help installing Qwt

Hi.
    I've just downloaded Qwt and am trying to install it. I'm not very good with this system environment stuff and a friend helped me install Qt, so I have a few questions despite reading the Qwt INSTALL file.
    My system is Windows Vista Home Premium and I'm using Qt Creator with a MinGW toolchain.

From the Qwt INSTALL file:

Start a Shell, where Qt4 is initialized. ( F.e. with
    "Programs->Qt by Trolltech ...->Qt 4.x.x Command Prompt" ).
    Check if you can execute "make" or something like "mingw32-make".

qmake qwt.pro
    make
    make install
    1.) It doesn't mention where to install Qwt. I just unzipped it and copied it into C:\qwt-6.0.1. Is that okay ? Or should I put it in my Qt Projects folder ?

2.) What does "a shell where Qt4 is initialized" mean ? I suppose it means that the make command is recognized. But when I open Windows Command Prompt, it isn't.
    When I type "make ?", it says it's not recognized as an internal or external command.
    The Program Menu folder "Qt SDK" only has the "MADDE Terminal" shell. But I haven't used this before, whether for installing Qt or otherwise.

3.) Can I maybe build it directly from the Qt Creator Projects menu instead of using the shell commands, seeing that there are qmake calls in the build steps ?
    I tried just building the project from there. It seems to have compiled, but then when I tried to run it it said the process could not be started.
    Hint: Think carefully before picking a user name.

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: Need help installing Qwt

Hello,