Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    I haven't problem in coding and compile my programs in QT Creator, but when I try use debugger in my code with breakpoints, Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints.

    I already tried a search in internet, but I don't found the solution for my problem.

    If someone can help me, I thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,363
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,012 Times in 4,791 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Make sure you build your project in debug mode.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    I have sure about this

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 106 Times in 103 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Exit QtCreator,
    Delete shadow directory,
    delete *.pro.user file in your project directory,
    Open the project and build it in debug mode.

    Set a breakpoint somewhere in the main() to test.

  6. The following user says thank you to Spitfire for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    The same is happening, I really don't know what is this, I searched in the internet, but I don't found something about this, I think my installations is correct.

    I followed this tutorial:

    http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2007/07/11/...ns-in-eclipse/

    Thanks a lot

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Looks like he is using eclipse and not QtCreator so we need someone with working knowledge of eclipse...

  9. The following user says thank you to qtnewbi3 for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 106 Times in 103 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Are you using Eclipse?
    Then the title and what you say is at least very misleading if not wrong...

  11. The following user says thank you to Spitfire for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    No, I just use QT Creator, I have never used Eclipse for QT.

    This just happened in QT Creator.

    Sorry, I don't have explained correctly, in the true I used just this site :

    http://qt.nokia.com/downloads

    I tried use Eclipse but :

    Which platforms are supported?
    The plugin runs on Windows and Linux x86. Debugging does not work on Windows x64, because GDB crashes, there. OSX will be supported in a later release.
    Last edited by edsonmcz; 25th October 2011 at 16:12.

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 106 Times in 103 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    So why you followed Eclipse tutorial? Odd.

    Anyway, what system are you using?
    MacOS X as it's stated in your details?

  14. The following user says thank you to Spitfire for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    I tried use Eclipse but :

    Which platforms are supported?
    The plugin runs on Windows and Linux x86. Debugging does not work on Windows x64, because GDB crashes, there.

    Then I used just QT Creator.

    I followed this site until this part, then I found :

    http://qt.nokia.com/downloads

  16. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Talking Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Here the image :

    Screen shot.jpg
    Last edited by edsonmcz; 26th October 2011 at 17:19.

  17. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    4,060
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 649 Times in 639 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    So, are you making a debug build? Are you running it from inside of Qt Creator using the Debug menu? Can't tell anything from your screenshot.

  18. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  19. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 106 Times in 103 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Create new, empty, console app project, save it on main mac partition (not the second drive you're using now - just to be sure), set breakpoint in main, build and debug.

    Check application output/compile output for any issues - ie missing gdb.

  20. The following user says thank you to Spitfire for this useful post:

    edsonmcz (26th October 2011)

  21. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    7
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Talking Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
    Create new, empty, console app project, save it on main mac partition (not the second drive you're using now - just to be sure), set breakpoint in main, build and debug.

    Check application output/compile output for any issues - ie missing gdb.

    Thanks for all

    Your idea worked, I create a Empty project and all worked perfectly

    I thought this problem was occurring in every projects, but wasn't

    Thanks a lot

    Screen.jpg

  22. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 106 Times in 103 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    Glad I could help

  23. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    thanks a lot it helped me

  24. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    I have this problem an nothing this solve. Someone could helpme? My project is a debug project but the gdb dont stop in any breakpoints.

  25. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 106 Times in 103 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    You could at least say what you've tried, what's your OS and so on.

    It's still quite difficult to read minds...

  26. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    ops, im sorry...

    My problem happens in win 7 64. I put a breakpoint in a line, but gdb dont stop in it. The program runs and ends normally without debugging. My project is configured to debug and all path is correct.

    Here is the output of debug log comand:




    1show version
    2-list-features
    3set breakpoint pending on
    4set print elements 10000
    5set overload-resolution off
    6handle SIGSEGV nopass stop print
    7set unwindonsignal on
    8pwd
    9set width 0
    10set height 0
    11set auto-solib-add on
    12-interpreter-exec console "maintenance set internal-warning quit no"
    13-interpreter-exec console "maintenance set internal-error quit no"
    14-interpreter-exec console "disassemble 0 0"
    15-interpreter-exec console "python execfile('C:/QtSDK/QtCreator/share/qtcreator/dumper/bridge.py')"
    16-interpreter-exec console "python execfile('C:/QtSDK/QtCreator/share/qtcreator/dumper/dumper.py')"
    17-interpreter-exec console "python execfile('C:/QtSDK/QtCreator/share/qtcreator/dumper/qttypes.py')"
    18-interpreter-exec console "bbsetup"
    19attach 3588
    20set substitute-path C:/iwmake/build_mingw_opensource C:/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.7.4/mingw
    21set substitute-path C:/ndk_buildrepos/qt-desktop/src C:/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.7.4/mingw
    22set substitute-path C:/qt-greenhouse/Trolltech/Code_less_create_more/Trolltech/Code_less_create_more/Troll/4.6/qt C:/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.7.4/mingw
    23-break-insert -f "\"main.cpp\":16"
    24info line *0x401432
    25maint print msymbols C:/Users/TERMIN~1/AppData/Local/Temp/gdb_ns_.xu5116
    26-exec-continue

  27. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,245
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 127 Times in 126 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints ?

    I have the same problem although it's probably because my Qt creator is set up to build with msvc tools, but tries to use gdb.
    If you have a problem, CUT and PASTE your code. Do not retype or simplify it. Give a COMPLETE and COMPILABLE example of your problem. Otherwise we are all guessing the problem from a fabrication where relevant details are often missing.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd November 2011, 08:30
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th April 2011, 08:36
  3. qt creator - breakpoints don't work
    By pmitas in forum Newbie
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 8th September 2010, 10:53
  4. Breakpoints set at a slot will not stop?
    By MorrisLiang in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th May 2010, 16:18
  5. Qt Creator doesn't stop at breakpoints
    By TheSaw in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 15:53

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.