Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    Hi.
    Qt 4.7.4 and Visual Studio plugin, Win7 64bit OS SPs latest.
    I first tried the only the Qt Application from "New projekt". This worked fine for Win32, but if I change to x64 platform I get:
    The following error occured:
    Can't find a Qt version for the current platform.
    What can I do? Where to find the matching platform files?

    Thanx, Harald.

    PS: Is there also a plugin for ECLIPSE C++

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    Build Qt with a 64-bit compiler.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    Hi. Visual Studio 2010 (2008) uses a 64bit compiler if I chosse the platform x64. That should not be the problem.
    Thanx for help.
    Harald.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    The Qt libraries/utilities you have now are built for a 32-bit target.
    You need a set of Qt libraries/utilities that are built with a 64-bit compiler in order to:
    • Generate appropriate build and link commands for a 64-bit compiler (qmake).
    • Have libraries you can link into 64-bit executables.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    Ok
    I thought I use the source and compile that for 64bit Win OS. I did not realize that there are 64 libs behind the scene.
    Where can I get them?

    Thanx, Harald.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    I am not aware of pre-built 64-bit Qt libraries that you can just download: they don't seem to exist in the usual place. (I don't think the library download for Windows contains both)

    You can build your own from Qt Sources easily enough.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    I found a place where building dlls for other platforms is described but one thing I can not find. Where is a list of available platforms?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    The platforms corresponds to the directory names in %QTDIR%/mkspecs.
    And remember when building for x64 with visual studio, you need to open x64 command prompt under the tools folder. Configure should pick up the right platform paths if you do so.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: WINDOWS 7 64 bit and VISUAL Studio 2011 (2008)

    Thanx a lot. I am done. Compiled for 64bit although the -platform entry looks like 32bit.

    Harald.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th May 2011, 13:28
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th April 2011, 15:25
  3. Visual Studio 2008 and Qt
    By konx in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd January 2010, 22:24
  4. How to use Qt with Visual Studio 2008?
    By N3wb in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th August 2009, 17:23
  5. Qt 4.3.2 + Visual studio 2008
    By moowy in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th December 2007, 07:41

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.