Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QWT and time series

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4

    Default QWT and time series

    Hi guys!

    Im currently trying to use QWT in my application, which is hugely using time series data. I have re-implemented QwtScaleDraw to put dates on x-axis, yet i have problems with graph itself. Problem is that the time points requested by QWT during axis drawing are nowhere near days/hours boundaries and seem fractional , so i can not put time labels because they represent nonexisting points in data( which is hourly ).
    Is there any way I can force QWT graph to use day and hour boundaries, like to put major axis labels straight on date 0:00 am , or select axis points among fixed set of possible values ?

    I also have some related questions :
    - how do i put overlay bar under graph to mark for example selected timespan ( ie day ) ? ( Assuming I have data range and I want to apply it to graph object )
    - if I provide a set of ~1000 data points to plot it become slow to rescale. Is there something I missed in plot parameters or it is normal qwt & desktop computer to work like this with datasets of this size? If latter is actual, should i do some data preprocessing to reduce ammount of points or there is some existing soluton, maybe inside qwt?

    Thanks in advance!

    PS: regarding rescale , i found that it is not dependent on data point count, but related to how it works with splitter adjacent to plot itself. I've attached sample code which shows a problem.
    slow_plot.zip

    Is it a known issue? does any workaround exist?
    Last edited by Neekeetos; 6th February 2012 at 10:21. Reason: additional data on mentioned

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QWT and time series

    Quote Originally Posted by Neekeetos View Post
    Is there any way I can force QWT graph to use day and hour boundaries, like to put major axis labels straight on date 0:00 am , or select axis points among fixed set of possible values ?
    Qwt doesn't have a scale engine for time/date values - it's on my TODO list for the next release of Qwt. So for the moment you have to implement your own scale engine. "All" you need to do is to implement the pure virtual methods of QwtScaleEngine.

    But if you have a static situation ( no zooming, known series ) you don't need to have a scale engine because you could assign all ticks manually by QwtPlot::setAxisScaleDiv().

    Uwe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4

    Default Re: QWT and time series

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Qwt doesn't have a scale engine for time/date values - it's on my TODO list for the next release of Qwt. So for the moment you have to implement your own scale engine. "All" you need to do is to implement the pure virtual methods of QwtScaleEngine.
    Uwe, thanks for reply! I will re-implement scale engine as you said. There is another side question I encounterd - how do I provide date/time information to plot/scaleengine without converting it to other data types like int/unixtime ? The only way to assign time series data to plot I found is to mimic data to PointF which imply, that inside plot classes, I need to know exact format to convert X back to date. Maybe there is something I'm missing?

    Thanks in advance!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QWT and time series

    Hey Uwe we just wanted to know if you have implemented the time series scale engine.
    Thanks a lot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QWT and time series

    Quote Originally Posted by Udayagiri Rithwik View Post
    Hey Uwe we just wanted to know if you have implemented the time series scale engine.
    http://qwt.sourceforge.net/class_qwt...le_engine.html

    Uwe

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Smile Re: QWT and time series

    Thank you Uwe

Similar Threads

  1. How to write code for the fibonacci series in Qt?
    By harish in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th December 2011, 05:28
  2. App for Series 40 phone
    By therohan in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th July 2011, 07:17
  3. Widget for Animating a Series of Images
    By cpsmusic in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th June 2010, 07:44
  4. drawing series of rotated ellipses
    By qtn00b in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th December 2009, 02:51

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.