Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Problem with applying patch for Multiple Axis Scales

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Problem with applying patch for Multiple Axis Scales

    I've have spent countless hours pouring over the forum looking for any reference dealing with having multiple axis/scales for multiple curves. Users of my tools using the Qwt Library have demanded that I provide that feature in any future release. In my search I have come across several threads that discuss the matter in great detail. I have even located the related patch that supposedly enables this particular feature.

    I have attempted to apply the patch http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func...93&atid=313693

    Following the instructions explained in the thread.

    http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/4729...=multiple+axis

    But every attempt has failed with error message stating that the patch couldn't be successfully applied.

    I am using Qwt-6.0.1 with Qt 4.8 on a Linux OS

    I've attempted to hand edit the patch into the code itself but that turned in to quasi fiasco. Could I ask someone to help me with my problem and get the code successfully patched.

    Are there any plans of having this unofficial patch included in the next release of Qwt?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,294
    Thanked 877 Times in 825 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with applying patch for Multiple Axis Scales

    Quote Originally Posted by Wazman View Post
    Are there any plans of having this unofficial patch included in the next release of Qwt?
    This patch seems to be useful for several applications, but it is very incomplete. An implementation that would make it into the official code base is a lot more work with heavy changes of the API. Qwt 6.1 is planned to be a release full of new stuff ( never had a release with so many new classes ), but I don't want to have it too incompatible with Qwt 6.0.

    So this feature might be implemented in Qwt 7.x - the same version, where the classes are reorganized to support the Qt5 duality somehow.

    Uwe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with applying patch for Multiple Axis Scales

    Uwe

    Thanks for the quick response. I can hardly wait for the next release (Qwt 6.1 and then Qwt 7.x) Do you have a white paper on what is going to be implemented on the 6.1 version I would love to see it. Also I've been meaning to ask this on the forum. Why is the Qwt 5.2.2 the only available on the various Linux repository sites (ie yum for intstance)?

    Wazman

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,294
    Thanked 877 Times in 825 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem with applying patch for Multiple Axis Scales

    Quote Originally Posted by Wazman View Post
    Do you have a white paper on what is going to be implemented on the 6.1 version ...

    Why is the Qwt 5.2.2 the only available on the various Linux repository sites (ie yum for intstance)?
    Most distros have their focus on the applications - not on the development environment - and many of the important applications using Qwt have not been ported to Qwt 6.

    Did you ask the Qwt package maintainer of your distro ?

    Uwe

Similar Threads

  1. Hiding intervals on axis scales
    By cradle in forum Qwt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th February 2012, 12:42
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th January 2011, 03:15
  3. fixed axis scales
    By oskarmellow in forum Qwt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th December 2008, 06:20
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd December 2008, 22:22
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 18th September 2008, 15:14

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.