Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Unhappy edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

    I notice that the contents of QLineEdit and QSpinBox controls are not correctly left aligned in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X. See the attached screenshots of the identical 'configdialog' example built with Qt 4.7.4 and Qt 4.8.0 (both standard binaries downloaded from Nokia).

    offset.jpg

    It looks wrong and it wastes screen real estate. Is anyone else seeing this? Any idea how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,679
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,597 Times in 1,525 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

    I see the same effect in that example and a bare QLineEdit/QSpinBox on Mac OS X Lion using Qt 4.8.0. Have not tried 4.8.1.
    I could not see a bug report or change that obviously relates to this issue but I only had a cursory scan.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    I see the same effect in that example and a bare QLineEdit/QSpinBox on Mac OS X Lion using Qt 4.8.0.
    Thanks for replicating it. At least I know it isn't just me. Where is the best place to report a bug to the Qt development team now?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,679
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,597 Times in 1,525 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

    "We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them." -- Einstein
    If you are posting code then please use [code] [/code] tags around it - makes addressing the problem easier.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    I added a bug there on 04-Apr-12. No response so far.

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    I added a bug there on 04-Apr-12. No response so far.


    Added after 6 minutes:


    I have added this bug as well:

    https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-25282

    I'm not holding my breath for a response though.
    Last edited by AndyBrice; 12th April 2012 at 16:31.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: edit controls offset in Qt 4.8.0 on Mac OS X

    It appears to be fixed in Qt 4.8.1. Hoorah!

Similar Threads

  1. Timezone offset
    By pdoria in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th February 2014, 06:54
  2. Nokia gives CEO $6.2M to offset lost Microsoft pay
    By TorAn in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th March 2011, 12:49
  3. Hiding controls changes spacing of other controls
    By MrGarbage in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th December 2007, 21:47
  4. LIMIT and OFFSET for QSqlRelationalTableModel
    By mkarakaplan in forum Newbie
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th November 2007, 01:06
  5. QTableWidget, row offset
    By georgie in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th May 2006, 12:23

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.