Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: About the UWE way to install qwt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    34
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default About the UWE way to install qwt

    Hello world,

    can help me please for the installation of qwt ? I have a search on the forum i have tried several "UWE installations" like this :

    1°) Unzip Qwt to "C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0"
    2°) open Qt command line "QT 4.7.3 for desckop (MinGW)"
    3°) qmake qwt.pro
    4°) mingw32-make
    5°) mingw32-make install
    6°) qmake -set QMAKEFEATURES "C:/Qt/qwt-6.0.0/features"
    7°) add "CONFIG += qwt" in my project .pro
    8°) in my Qt project i run "Compiler->execute Qmake"
    9°) and i compil my project

    but i have already this error during compilation :
    "qwt_plot_curve.h : No such file or directoty"

    Can you explain what is the error in my installation ?

    thanks !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    Quote Originally Posted by 21did21 View Post
    but i have already this error during compilation :
    "qwt_plot_curve.h : No such file or directoty"
    Compiling of what - your application or Qwt itself ?

    But anyway don't compile with CONFIG += silent and you will see the include paths used for compilation.

    Uwe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    34
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    thanks UWE for your help,

    1°) i speak about the compilation of my application.

    2°) sorry but i don't understand. You want that i erase the line CONFIG+= and i run my application ?

    this is my error message :
    Qt Code:
    1. MyMainWindow.h:53: error: 'QwtPlotCurve' does not name a type
    2. MyMainWindow.h:54: error: 'QwtPlotCurve' was not declared in this scope
    3. MyMainWindow.h:54: error: template argument 1 is invalid
    4. mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `D:/mySoft'
    5. mingw32-make[1]: *** [release/main.o] Error 1
    6. mingw32-make: *** [release] Error 2
    7. Le processus "C:\QtSDK\mingw\bin\mingw32-make.exe" s'est terminé avec le code 2.
    8. Erreur à la compilation du projet PreciSoQT (cible : Desktop)
    9. Lors de l'exécution de l'étape 'Make'
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    so, i have try to put the qwt.dll in this folder :
    C:\QtSDK\mingw\bin\mingw32-make.exe

    but it don't change anything. I don't understand very well that i have to di

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    Quote Originally Posted by 21did21 View Post
    this is my error message
    No it isn't.

    The error message ( at least the one you have posted in your initial message ) is that the compiler can't find qwt_plot_curve.h. This has nothing to do with the dll or where it is - but instead with the include path when compiling your code.

    Uwe

  5. The following user says thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    21did21 (23rd April 2012)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    34
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    Ok, if i understand well, my problem is not in the Qwt installation but rather in the Qwt integration in the Qt compilation ?

    => so, can you explain me please, how and where i can modify the "include path when compiling " ?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    Ok, if i understand well, my problem is not in the Qwt installation but rather in the Qt compilation ?
    No, your problem is that the compiler does not know where the Qwt headers are installed. That means you have not put the include file path for Qwt into your configuration for the build.

    Look at some of the .pro files for the Qwt examples, and see how they are different from your own .pro file, then fix your own .pro file to match.

  8. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    21did21 (23rd April 2012)

  9. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    34
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    OK, it's strange because in the past i used the same .pro (and the same version of Qwt) and it worked ...

    my .pro is this :
    Qt Code:
    1. QT += opengl
    2. SOURCES += main.cpp calcul.cpp
    3. CONFIG += qwt
    4. HEADERS += main.h calcul.h \
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    can you show me one of your example for the .pro ?

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    can you show me one of your example for the .pro ?
    Sorry, but I use Visual Studio and .vcproj files. Someone else who uses mingw32 and .pro files will have to help.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    Look at some of the .pro files for the Qwt examples, ...
    I would also recommend to look at qwt.prf. The internal project files are intended for building the examples only and are very different from what you have to do for building an application against an installed Qwt version.

    When properly installed you will find the following qwt.prf in /root/to/qwt/features:

    Qt Code:
    1. include ( ./qwtconfig.pri )
    2.  
    3. contains(QWT_CONFIG, QwtDll) {
    4.  
    5. DEFINES *= QWT_DLL
    6. }
    7.  
    8. contains(QWT_CONFIG, QwtSvg) {
    9.  
    10. QT *= svg
    11. }
    12. else {
    13.  
    14. DEFINES *= QWT_NO_SVG
    15. }
    16.  
    17. contains(QWT_CONFIG, QwtFramework) {
    18.  
    19. INCLUDEPATH *= $${QWT_INSTALL_LIBS}/qwt.framework/Headers
    20. LIBS *= -F$${QWT_INSTALL_LIBS}
    21. }
    22. else {
    23.  
    24. INCLUDEPATH *= $${QWT_INSTALL_HEADERS}
    25. LIBS *= -L$${QWT_INSTALL_LIBS}
    26. }
    27.  
    28. INCLUDEPATH_QWT = $${INCLUDEPATH}
    29. qtAddLibrary(qwt)
    30.  
    31. # we don't want qtAddLibrary to expand the
    32. # include path, with directories, that might
    33. # conflict with other installations of qwt
    34.  
    35. INCLUDEPATH = $${INCLUDEPATH_QWT}
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    "CONFIG += qwt" is only a different way for writing "include ( /root/to/qwt/features/qwt.prf )". Note that qwtconfig.pri is also installed and read by qwt.prf - so that the configuration how Qwt had been built is available in your application project file !

    Uwe

  12. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    34
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    sorry but i have some difficulties to understand, can you explain to me the step since the beginning with adding or correct my list bellow ?


    1°) Unzip Qwt to "C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0"
    2°) open Qt command line "QT 4.7.3 for desckop (MinGW)"
    3°) qmake qwt.pro
    4°) mingw32-make
    5°) mingw32-make install
    6°) qmake -set QMAKEFEATURES "C:/Qt/qwt-6.0.0/features"
    7°) add "CONFIG += qwt" in my project .pro
    8°) in my Qt project i run "Compiler->execute Qmake"
    9°) and i compil my project
    10°) add something in .pro ? (where is this file?)
    10°) add something in .pri ? (where is this file?)
    10°) add something in .prf ? (this file is here : C:/QtSDK/qwt6-0-0/features ?)

    because i don't understand when, why and how we i have to modify something in .pro / .pri / .prf ...

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    If the installation was as simple as running those several points you have mentioned, there would be a working script provided for you. If the suggested way of installing Qwt doesn't work for you then repeating those several bullets in your post will not help you in any way. The recommended path if something doesn't work in QtCreator is to open command line, set all the paths manually, run qmake manually and then manually run make and watch for errors. If you want to be a programmer, you have to be able to do those steps on your own. We can help you with getting to proper conclusions but the main part of the work belongs to you. If you don't know what is going on behind those several lines of instructions you posted, then please spend two-three hours on learning your toolchain. The error is in your .pro file so you have to understand it and be able to perform simple tasks on it (like including some file in it or setting variables to proper values).
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  14. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    34
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: About the UWE way to install qwt

    i will try to understand, i thank that the installation is easy so i thank that i have miss a step...

    see you and thanks all

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th November 2011, 14:35
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th March 2011, 00:49
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th April 2010, 01:37
  4. How install fonts with make install
    By jiveaxe in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd January 2008, 20:38
  5. "make install" doesn't install binary
    By jiveaxe in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd January 2008, 13:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.