Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Problems building from source with -no-gui configure option

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Symbian S60

    Default Re: Problems building from source with -no-gui configure option

    I'm trying to do a minimal build from source using qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.1. All I need is Qt scripting and the state machines ie no GUI.
    I configured an built using:

    ./configure -prefix=/my_dir \
    -opensource \
    -silent \
    -no-qt3support \
    -no-accessibility \
    -no-multimedia \
    -no-phonon \
    -no-svg \
    -no-nis \
    -no-cups <<< "yes"
    gmake -silent

    The configure generated some warnings and errors:

    Project ERROR: Package gstreamer-app-0.10 not found
    Project WARNING: DEPLOYMENT support required. This project only works on Symbian and WinCE
    Project WARNING: Qt Mobility Messaging disabled!
    Project ERROR: The Symbian Vibration Example only works for the Symbian target!
    Project WARNING: The Maemo Vibration Example only works for the maemo target!
    Project MESSAGE: OpenGL support is not available.
    WARNING: <current_dir>/src/plugins/s60/feedback.pro:16 Unable to find file for inclusion data_caging paths
    Package wayland-client was not found in the pkg-config search path.
    Perhaps you should add the directory containing 'wayland-client.pc'
    to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
    No package 'wayland-client' found
    WARNING: <current_dir>/src/plugins/platforms/ccoa/cocoa.pro:26: Unable to find file for includion ../fontdatabases/coretext/coretext.pri
    Project MESSAGE: Trk: Console ...

    gmake produced one errors too:
    ...
    compiling main.cpp
    compiling .moc/release-shared/moc_main.cpp
    linking ../../../../plugins/script/libqtscriptdbus.so
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lQtGui
    ...

    and when I install I get the same linking error on libqtscriptdbus.so.

    So a couple of questions:
    1. Can I have QtScript without QtGui?
    2. Can I have QtScript without QtScriptDbus?
    3. What does QtScriptDBus do?
    4. Can I prevent the examples and docs being installed?
    5. Any other suggestions to minimize the install when all I want is QtCore and QtScript?

    Thanks,
    Steve

    PS I'm building this on a CentOS 6.2 machine.


    Added after 5 minutes:


    Duh!
    I did, of course have the -no-gui option specified on the configure line which I omitted out in my original post.
    Last edited by zephod; 24th April 2012 at 16:56.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Symbian S60

    Default Re: Problems building from source with -no-gui configure option

    No replies. That's disappointing.
    However I solved my original problem, then I found I had to include the GUI just for QApplication and now I have a different problem.

    First the solution.
    I think the problem was that either the example or the demos or both need QtGui. When I added -nomake examples and -nomake demos to my configure line, I was able to build and install successfully.

    I am trying to use QStateMachine and I discovered that I needed to make a QApplication variable so that I could force the events to get processed. QApplication appears to be in the QtGui library so I had to build it even though I am not using any Qt widgets or other GUI elements. That is unfortunate since increases the build time probably by a factor of 3.

    I'll start a new thread to report my new problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Building from source option setting
    By sajis997 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st March 2012, 15:55
  2. Don't configure under vs command prompt when building gcc (mingw) version of qt
    By piotr.dobrogost in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st February 2011, 20:28
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th July 2010, 10:28
  4. Configure error building Qt 4.4.3 on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4
    By montylee in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th December 2008, 18:40
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th December 2007, 22:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.