Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Hello,

    first of all i'm a newbie in linux. (suse10 x86_64).
    I've installed QT 4.1.0 by an rpm from
    ftp://ftp.suse.com/pub/suse/x86_64/s...0/development/
    I try to compile QSA 1.2.0 in '/usr/lib/qsa-1.2.0/'
    (as root: ./configure ... make)
    and get this error after a few seconds:

    ...
    make[3]: Entering directory `/usr/lib/qsa-1.2.0/examples/spreadsheet'
    g++ -m64 -o spreadsheet .obj/main.o .obj/sheetinterface.o .obj/addscriptdialog.o .obj/spreadsheet.o .obj/moc_sheetinterface.o .obj/moc_addscriptdialog.o .obj/moc_spreadsheet.o .obj/qrc_spreadsheet.o -L/usr/lib64 -lqsa_debug -L../../lib -lQtGui -L/usr/lib64 -L/usr/X11R6/lib64 -L/usr/src/packages/BUILD/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/lib -lpng -lSM -lICE -lXi -lXrender -lXrandr -lXcursor -lXinerama -lfreetype -lfontconfig -lXext -lX11 -lQtCore -lz -lm -ldl -lpthread
    /usr/lib64/gcc/x86_64-suse-linux/4.0.2/../../../../x86_64-suse-linux/bin/ld: cannot find -lqsa_debug
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[3]: *** [spreadsheet] Fehler 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/usr/lib/qsa-1.2.0/examples/spreadsheet'
    make[2]: *** [sub-spreadsheet-make_default] Fehler 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/lib/qsa-1.2.0/examples'
    make[1]: *** [sub-examples-make_default-ordered] Fehler 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/lib/qsa-1.2.0'
    make: *** [run-make] Fehler 2

    For what is the parameter '-lqsa_debug'?
    It isn't described anywhere!

    Thanks for help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by detheang
    For what is the parameter '-lqsa_debug'?
    It isn't described anywhere!
    It is a parameter for your compiler telling it to link with "qsa_debug" library. Apparently you don't have that library built (it should be called libqsa_debug.so).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Sorry, im new on Linux.
    Should I change in
    /usr/lib/qsa-x11-opensource-1.2.0/examples/spreadsheet/Makefile

    the line:
    LIBS = $(SUBLIBS) -L/usr/lib64 -lqsa_debug -L../../lib -lQtGui -L/usr/lib64 -L/usr/X11R6/lib64 -L/usr/src/packages/BUILD/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.1.0/lib
    -lpng -lSM -lICE -lXi -lXrender -lXrandr -lXcursor -lXinerama -lfreetype -lfontconfig -lXext -lX11 -lQtCore -lz -lm -ldl -lpthread

    ???

    What should i exactly fill in instead -lqsa_debug?
    I can't find libqsa_debug.so

    I also tried:
    ./configure
    make sub-src
    (ok)
    make sub-examples
    (same error)
    Last edited by detheang; 4th February 2006 at 14:09. Reason: Further tests

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by detheang
    I can't find libqsa_debug.so
    Maybe you haven't built QSA in debug mode?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Where can I force to build an release?
    I only type:
    ./configure
    make

    and both commands has no parameter to set release mode!
    Should I change the makefiles?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by detheang
    Where can I force to build an release?
    I only type:
    ./configure
    make

    and both commands has no parameter to set release mode!
    What does "configure -help" prints? Did you try "configure -debug"?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    configure -help prints:

    ...:/usr/lib/qsa-x11-opensource-1.2.0 # ./configure -help
    Usage: configure [options]
    Options:
    -help Display this information
    -thread Force a threaded configuration.
    -prefix Installation prefix
    -no-ide Excludes QSA Workbench from the qsa library.
    -no-editor Excludes the QSA Editor from the qsa library.

    In spite of this I tried -release or -debug
    but it prints: unkown option.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Here is the whole log of my compilation!
    compile.txt.bz2

    It is strange that qt4 is installed to /usr/lib64/qt3

    I'm sure that qt4 is installed, because if I try to compile:
    #include <qapplication.h>
    #include <qpushbutton.h>
    #include <qfont.h>

    int main( int argc, char **argv ) {

    QApplication app( argc, argv );

    QPushButton quit( "Quit!", 0 );
    quit.resize( 75, 30 );
    quit.setFont( QFont( "Arial", 18, QFont::Bold ) );

    QObject::connect( &quit, SIGNAL(clicked()), &app, SLOT(quit()) );

    app.setMainWidget( &quit );
    quit.show();
    return app.exec();
    }

    there is an error because of app.setMainWidget( &quit )

    Should I deinstall the rpm of qt4 and better compile it by hand?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Quote Originally Posted by detheang
    there is an error because of app.setMainWidget( &quit )
    There is no such method in Qt4.

    Should I deinstall the rpm of qt4 and better compile it by hand?
    IMO this won't change anything, I've downloaded QSA and get similar problems --- it only builds the debug version and when it try to compile examples I get:
    /home/users/jacek/Qt/lib/libQt3Support_debug.so.4: undefined reference to `.LC465'
    I think that there's something wrong with QSA and it doesn't work with Qt 4.1.0.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    I deinstalled qt4.1 and installed a fresh qt3.3(original rpm from suse).
    Then I download qsa3.3 and try to compile,
    but I get the same error:
    ...
    g++ -o spreadsheet .obj/main.o .obj/sheetinterface.o .obj/spreadsheet.o .obj/addscriptdialog.o .obj/qmake_image_collection.o .obj/moc_sheetinterface.o .obj/moc_spreadsheet.o .obj/moc_addscriptdialog.o -L/usr/lib64/ -L/usr/lib/qt3/lib64/ -L/usr/X11R6/lib64/ -lqsa -L../../lib -lqt-mt -lXext -lX11 -lm -lpthread
    /usr/lib64/gcc/x86_64-suse-linux/4.0.2/../../../../x86_64-suse-linux/bin/ld: cannot find -lqsa
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[3]: *** [spreadsheet] Fehler 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/debug/qsa-x11-free-1.1.3/examples/spreadsheet'
    make[2]: *** [sub-spreadsheet] Fehler 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/debug/qsa-x11-free-1.1.3/examples'
    make[1]: *** [sub-examples] Fehler 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/debug/qsa-x11-free-1.1.3'
    make: *** [run-make] Fehler 2

    I think that qsa hates me (or it hates the suse 10 rpm ... or my x86-64)
    I'm really depressed!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    Maybe there is a RPM package for SuSE with QSA?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling QSA 1.2.0 fails

    There are several rpms for suse 9.x but no for suse 10.
    In spite of this, I tried to take one for suse 9.3 and it runs
    without problems.

    Thanks for your help.

    (I hope that Qt4.1 and QSA is in OpenSuSE 10.1 already integrated)

Similar Threads

  1. QSA 1.2.2 compiling error with QBasicAtomic
    By llcwzg in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th January 2009, 15:39
  2. compiling hello world after fresh install fails
    By kvesi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th September 2008, 14:55
  3. Problem and solution about QSA 1.2.0 compilation
    By Dwarf007 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th March 2006, 17:52

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.