Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: What does this mean? QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed()

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default What does this mean? QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed()

    Had an app that I am working on suddenly stop after a couple of days on continuous use - basically just rotating a series of images on the screen. The log filled with these entries. They were intermittent at first but then eventually took over the log with these, over and over again.

    Qt Code:
    1. CRITICAL: QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed ()
    2. CRITICAL: QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed ()
    3. CRITICAL: QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed ()
    4. CRITICAL: QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed ()
    5. CRITICAL: QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed ()
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Any ideas on how to keep this from happening or even what these mean? I googled this and I get a lot of BitBlt failed information, but none like these.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: What does this mean? QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed()

    Fix your rendering code.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: What does this mean? QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed()

    Thanks for your reply but I do not see why you bothered.

    These messages are not coming from any code that I have written in the sense that I am actually directly calling the flush on the QWindowsBackingstore. It must be coming from a component(s) that I am using which are all standard Qt objects. I use QWebView, QMovie, QImage, QMediaPlayer. In my original post, I put that it was basically displaying images and perhaps I should have been more verbose. I also display html and small video snippets. I was mainly just curious if other folks had seen this and what their cause had been.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: What does this mean? QWindowsBackingStore::flush: GetDC failed()

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonKretzer View Post
    These messages are not coming from any code that I have written in the sense that I am actually directly calling the flush on the QWindowsBackingstore.
    No, but it is a consequence of something you have done. What it is -- I don't know, you didn't show us any code of yours. My best blind guess would be that it is something related to threads but then again it is only a blind guess.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. QDataStream and flush()
    By tuli in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th January 2013, 20:57
  2. QTcpSocket sends data twice with flush()
    By xenome in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd April 2010, 08:12
  3. How to flush a QPainter in Qt 4?
    By choucete in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd July 2009, 11:18
  4. flush to file the QTreeview
    By rmagro in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st July 2009, 13:41
  5. flush draw events
    By rbp in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th March 2009, 09:14

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.