Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Add a starting value tick on axis

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Add a starting value tick on axis

    Hi,
    I need some hints to draw values on the left part of the x bottom axis (i.e. the starting values for the x axis) as in the attached picture.
    I created a QwtScaleExt: public QwtScaleDraw class which and worked on the draw method but without success.

    Kind regards
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Add a starting value tick on axis

    First you tell me what is this 10000..... looking like it is not the part of the axis....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Add a starting value tick on axis

    I have several curves which start from different initial times (in ms for instance) and I want to visually compare them on a plot.

    For example I want to compare the acceleration acquired from two different lap on the same track:
    Curve 1: (100000, 1) (100000, 2), etc...
    Curve 2: (200000, 1.2) (200000, 2.5), etc...

    To compare them I want that both start from x=0 and I want to write somewhere in bottom left part of the plot (possibly in the scale or in the plot itself) the starting time of each curve.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,296
    Thanked 878 Times in 826 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Add a starting value tick on axis

    Quote Originally Posted by temis View Post
    I need some hints to draw values on the left part of the x bottom axis (i.e. the starting values for the x axis) as in the attached picture.
    This position is probably one of the worst places to put some information - due to the composite architecture of QwtPlot and its layout code. When you assign different backgrounds for the children of the plot widget ( f.e modify the choco.css stylesheet in examples/stylesheet ) you will see the layout and understand why.

    I strongly recommend to find a different way to display the start value.

    Uwe

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Add a starting value tick on axis

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    I strongly recommend to find a different way to display the start value.
    Thank you for the reply, any suggestion?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,296
    Thanked 878 Times in 826 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Add a starting value tick on axis

    Quote Originally Posted by temis View Post
    Thank you for the reply, any suggestion?
    No, how to design your user interface is something you have to discuss on your side - all I can do is to help with implementing it when using Qwt.

    Uwe

Similar Threads

  1. X axis tick label - font size
    By junhonguk in forum Qwt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th April 2012, 16:15
  2. Y Axis tick labels cut off on left
    By rbergeron in forum Qwt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th November 2011, 15:29
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd June 2010, 10:20
  4. Axis Tick Labels Overlap
    By amoswood in forum Qwt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th June 2010, 16:52
  5. y-axis tick labels trimmed
    By gib in forum Qwt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd April 2010, 06:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.