Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Use openssl 1.0.0 with Qt 4.8.3 on Mac

  1. #1

    Default Use openssl 1.0.0 with Qt 4.8.3 on Mac

    When I use openssl 0.9.8 with my qtwebkit-based application built with Qt 4.8.3, I got a lot of ssl errors. If I use openssl 1.0.0, there are no errors. However, Mac only comes with openssl 0.9.8 and 0.9.7 by default. No openssl 1.0.0 is included in the default installation. Therefore, I would like to deploy libssl.1.0.0.dylib within my application bundle. Qt loads the ssl library dynamically with mac API dlopen. Therefore, it only searches the path given in LD_LIBRARY_PATH. I know I could create a shell script to launch the application with modified LD_LIBRARY_PATH (That's how people deploy apps on linux). But it doesn't seem to be the standard practice on mac. I don't want to install the openssl 1.0.0 into the system path either.

    Please advise what is the best way to solve this problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,552
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,579 Times in 1,508 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Use openssl 1.0.0 with Qt 4.8.3 on Mac

    I thought this was the sort of problem that private frameworks in Mac bundles addressed. Make OpenSSL a private framework and adjust the bundle's search path. See the Mac deployment docs.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Use openssl 1.0.0 with Qt 4.8.3 on Mac

    The QT Mac deployment doc only talks about libraries with link information embedded at compile time, such as qt framework and the plugins. For those libraries, we can use the install_name_tool to change the path of the libraries to relative paths so that the executable can locate the supporting libraries properly after deployment. However, openssl is loaded at run time with no embedded link information. I am not a mac newbie and don't know how to help my app locate the library properly at run time in this case.


    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    I thought this was the sort of problem that private frameworks in Mac bundles addressed. Make OpenSSL a private framework and adjust the bundle's search path. See the Mac deployment docs.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt openssl aes lib
    By zgulser in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th July 2012, 12:23
  2. QT and OpenSSL EVP.h
    By TCB13 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 4th September 2011, 20:04
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st May 2010, 15:10
  4. Qt 4.5 Openssl problem
    By srikanth_trulyit in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th June 2009, 09:54
  5. Get ml.exe to build OpenSSL on VS 2005
    By captchaq in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th September 2008, 07:43

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.