Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Can QT application detect which type of connection is used?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Question Can QT application detect which type of connection is used?

    Hi all,

    I have following doubts for network connection in QT application,-
    1. can a QT-Symbian application detect which type of network connection is being used on the device e.g. 2G/3G/Wifi?
    2. can the switching of network from "3G to Wifi" or "Wifi to 3G" hamper the application flow?


    If the second condition is valid, then please suggest the solution for that.

    Thank you all in advance for providing Support

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,419
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,496 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can QT application detect which type of connection is used?

    Quote Originally Posted by satya@sipl View Post
    can a QT-Symbian application detect which type of network connection is being used on the device e.g. 2G/3G/Wifi?
    QNetworkConfigurationManager should be able to help you with that.

    Quote Originally Posted by satya@sipl View Post
    can the switching of network from "3G to Wifi" or "Wifi to 3G" hamper the application flow?
    Depends on the application. Different types of networks have different properties, e.g. bandwidth, latency. if the application depends on certain values then it will likely be effected. if it is just transferring data in the background it probably won't.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. The following user says thank you to anda_skoa for this useful post:

    satya@sipl (3rd December 2012)

Similar Threads

  1. Detect whether a server requires SSL connection
    By mentalmushroom in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th May 2012, 13:40
  2. how to detect wifi connection under windows?
    By Raul in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th December 2011, 08:20
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd August 2010, 08:17
  4. How to detect an internet connection ?
    By ouekah in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th March 2010, 23:08
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 16:46

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.